We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic getaway, beautiful place”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idleyld Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Idleyld Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very romantic getaway, beautiful place”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My weekend stay at the Steamboat was one of my favorite trips ever, as we stayed here on our trip to Crater Lake! It is so beautiful and romantic. The Inn is near the Umpqua river and the noise of the water is so relaxing. Dinner was good and seating is family style at a large table. Before dinner hors d'oeuvres are served with wine in the library which allows you to get comfortable with other guest you will later be eating with. This is a good ice breaker. Wine is free in the library but if you want wine at dinner you have to pay. If your lucky like my gf and I someone you meet may share their wine :)

The rooms do not have TV or internet. Wi fi is available in the dinning area and in the library but it is slow. We did not feel we really needed these luxuries because we were so tired from our outdoor activities. We hiked 10 miles at Crater Lake. The lake is about an hour away if I remember but it is a beautiful drive. I hope to come back in the future!

Room Tip: Choose the stream side cabins as you have a shared porch that looks over the river and the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here over a weekend and it was idyllic. I loved falling asleep listening to the sound of the river. We participated in a river rafting trip during the day which was the perfect way to enjoy the river. And then later that night, joined the other guests of the hotel for their dinner. The food was great (and they accomodate for dietary restrictions!), and eating at a big banquet table with the other guests was a great way of hearing about everyone's days. We spent the next day hiking to various waterfalls in the area.

This is a beautiful spot. I highly recommend staying at this inn and having dinner here.

The only minor complaint was the room was pretty hot. We had a fan but it wasn't enough to really cool the room down.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portland_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

While returning from a trip over the Cascades through some of the most scenic beauty in all of Oregon (Crater Lake, North Umpqua River valley, highway 139), we happened upon this road stop. There is little warning so be on the lookout for this lovely facility perched along the edge of the river. It is a veritable oasis between the tall mountain peaks to the east and I-5 corridor to the west. We enjoyed a tasty, unique and tasty brunch. The staff was pleasant, relaxed and helpful. We met one of the owners who explained some of the history of the area and the facility's highlights. If you are looking for a true hideaway for a few days or a rest-stop to excite the senses, stop here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The inn's main accommodation is a series of cabins and a gracious adjacent building with restaurant, café and sitting room/library. The riverbank site slopes steeply to the water's edge and, seated on decking outside the cabins, you look through the leaves of the trees to the bubbling river below. The sound of the water made a pleasant night-time background. There are paths on which you can scramble the short distance to the river's edge to admire the rapids, or to fish. Our room itself, in one of the Streamside Cabins, was comfortable and warm even though the temperature outside fell sharply in the night. There was a wash-basin in the bedroom and an adjacent bathroom.

The fixed price, fixed menu dinner was communal, seated on a bench at a long table, as in a college at Oxford or Cambridge (or Hogwarts School!). Pre-dinner drinks (wine of several types) were served in the library with canapés in a cocktail party atmosphere. People were happy and friendly, and the talk across the table was lively. The meal was well prepared and served (drinks with the meal cost extra). Breakfast was the usual and well prepared.

We left thinking that it would have been good to stay for a longer time. It is a remote location and I doubt our journeys will take us that way again, but I would certainly want to stay again if I could.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Exquisite natural riverside setting, lovely, cozy, private room with deck and spectacular river view, splendid gourmet dinners, with chef who graciously accommodated my food allergies, all in close proximity to waterfalls, swimming holes, fishing spots, lakes, and more. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great one-night stay with delicious hearty meal. Staff treated us like we were staying forever, friendly, accommodating, helpful. We had a riverside cabin, it was very comfortable and lovely river sounds all night. Would definitely go again. Also, the breakfast was the best we've ever had outside our own kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nearby swimming hole for those who want to swim and a wonderful stop when visiting Crater Lake, A Fly Fisherman's heaven
They even have wi-fi in the main building!
Dinner was a delight, steelhead salmon, and for a young man Mac and Cheese...and of course wonderful region Pinot's red and white! Breakfast sends you off well fed.
We enjoyed others company in the library at the Inn.
A brilliant memory to take home

Room Tip: Enjoy the sound of the water from your porch and in your room.....there was no AC in cabin #2 but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Idleyld Park hotels
27.6 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
56 reviews
13.8 mi away
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
13.8 mi away
IdleYld Lodge
IdleYld Lodge
#3 of 5 in Idleyld Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 42705 N Umpqua Hwy, Idleyld Park, OR 97447-9729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Idleyld Park
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Idleyld Park
Steamboat Inn Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing