We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back”
Review of Jacksonville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacksonville Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Each time I return I find even more to like. My most recent visit included the "must" dining on the patio and taking in the fabulous breakfast. New to me this year was the wine shop. I found a few treasures to take back home with me. This trip my wife joined me for the first time. We checked out the cottages and got a look inside at the The Presidential / Honeymoon Cottage. Special! No doubt we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have the good fortune of living in the Rogue Valley and being able to visit the Jacksonville Inn often. Over the years, my family has celebrated many special occasions there, and it's the place we take our friends from out of town. We've dined on the lovely patio during warm summer evenings, eaten in the Bistro where the atmosphere is laden with history, and had more formal gatherings in the elegant dining room. In all the different areas of this unique Inn the gourmet food, which has won top awards, and exceptional, friendly service are always consistent. For really special times we've stayed overnight in one of the cottages...all of which are extraordinary with canopy beds, fireplaces, steam showers. fire places, and living room areas. We call these occasions our escape to excellence! I'm looking forward to our next "escape!" P.S. The wine list and the desserts unequaled!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stay at the Jacksonville Inn every year going and coming from Salem. It is the highlight of my trip. I travel with a dog and the staff is extremely dog friendly. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The restaurant has fabulous food. Sitting in the patio and dining when the weather is warm is delightful. Eating in the cozy dining room when the weather is a little chilly is equally as nice. The full free breakfast with your room is right off the regular breakfast menu and delicious. The accomodations, staff, wine shop, food and ambience cannot be beat. On my way home this year I stayed at the Westin in Sacramento and it wasn't even in the same ballgame as the Jacksonville Inn. They also offer coffee, tea and biscotti first thing in the morning with the local newspaper.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the Gin Lin room which is the room provided to people traveling with pets. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I attended some meetings in Jacksonville a few weeks ago and had a wonderful stay. The room is in an old brick building that has operated as a hotel for over 100 years, but it still has all the amenities that one could ask for of a modern hotel. Even the check in is cool, being surrounded by thousands of bottles of wine. So while checking in you can choose a bottle of wine from any style or grape type you want. The beds are comfy, the room spacious and the breakfast is to die for. You get to choose from anything on the menu in the restaurant that takes one back to the old west days (but only in decor and ambiance). The food is a wide selection of the standard fare with a special 'skillet' delight each day. I highly recommend the Jacksonville inn and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which is a corner room that overlooks Jacksonville's main street and also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Right in the heart of Historic Jacksonville, on Main St., you'll find the Jacksonville Inn and its many dining opportunities. Lovers of history and comfort need look no further. The owners Jerry & Linda are delightful and could regale you with stories galore from their near 4 decades running the inn. Fascinatingly enough 4 of the last 5 Presidents have stopped here!

While the staff and accommodations are noteworthy it was the food that really put things over the edge. Just wonderful - truly wonderful.

Thanks JVI! Our visit here really contributed to our time in southern OR

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I was traveling on business and found the Jacksonville Inn and entire town of Jacksonville to be an amazing experience! My room was gorgeous, clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. Eating alone at the bar was great, for the bartender made me feel very welcome. The food was delicious and presentation was perfect. The food was so good, I ate at the same restaurant 4 more times in 2 days. I will be back with my wife... business will have to wait!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a steam shower (I was in #4). My first experience in one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willigwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Fantastic hotel, excellent restaurant - recommended highly. The staff is eager to help make your stay a memorable one, be sure to inquire about the cottages they are across the street form the main hotel in a residential neighborhood and provide for a great local feel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiianinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
20.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
646 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 8 in Jacksonville
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
1.1 mi away
Bybee's Historic Inn
Bybee's Historic Inn
#4 of 8 in Jacksonville
107 reviews
15.5 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Inn

Address: 175 E California St, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9451
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range: £131 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jacksonville Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in one of gold-rush Jacksonville's early permanent structures, the Jacksonville Inn perpetuates the nostalgic romances of that era. Built in 1861, the walls of the dining area and lounge were built of locally quarried sandstone, and specks of gold are still visible in the mortar. The town is the first in America to be named a National Historic Landmark, and Jacksonville has preserved its 19th Century charm.Located in the heart of this national landmark town, The Inn is an elegant historic bed and breakfast featuring luxurious Honeymoon Cottages. Gerry Frank of the Portland Oregonian named the Inn as the "Most Romantic" lodging in Oregon.As one of Oregon's most acclaimed restaurants, it received the Medford Mail Tribune's "Readers' Choice Award" for five consecutive years as "Best Restaurant." The Wine and Gift Shop has over 2,000 wines and received Wine Spectator magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence," one of 600 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Inn Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing