We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world inn”
Review of Jacksonville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacksonville Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old world inn”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped for a couple of nights in Jacksonville on our drive through Oregon and loved the inn - the detour was well worth it. We were upgraded to one of the cottages which was lovely - so thank you. The cottage was clean, well equipped with spa bath, large shower and kitchenette - and loved all the little extras. The gardens around the cottage were well maintained. We ate in the restaurant in the main inn and loved the old world charm and the food was excellent. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Jacksonville town is small, historic and quaint - loved all the shops. We had our own personal tour on the trolley bus.

Room Tip: Loved the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    22
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
107
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Jacksonville nearly became a ghost town when the logging and mining industries faded and the railroad went to Medford. But the good people decided to become a living history town and saved many many hsitoric buildings of which one is the Jacksonville Inn. You can either stay is one of the rooms in the historic inn building or one of the larger cottages they have a couple of blocks away. We were upgraded to a cottage for our anniversary and enjoyed it.

The cottages are all very plush and well appointed and well maintained. The decor is a little 80's but is very well done. Our cottage had a HUGE shower and tub as well as several flat screen TVs and an alarm clock that let us dock our iPod which I always think is a great amenity.

In addition to the Inn you get access to the wonderful restaurant in the basement and first floor of the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarnes199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We love our stays at the J'ville Inn. Everything from the décor to the beautiful gardening and flowers beds welcome you. A little bit of a history lesson with every room. The staff, at every level, is most helpful and responsive. Whenever we travel to Southern Oregon - for Shakespeare, Britt, or jazz festivals - we look forward to staying at the Inn. The combination of hotel and great dining can't be beat.

Henry D

Room Tip: Enjoy one of the cottages. They are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great room!!! Very clean. We loved the antique furniture. The fresh flowers gave the room the perfect aroma. The towels were fluffy and the shower was a good size with great water pressure. The morning coffee service was convenient and close.

Room Tip: It's a must. Each room is decorated differently. Go to the website to see them all. It is our go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great service and cottages are awesome with restraunt was perfect jerry takes it personal and bar tended kelsie knows how to make a great cocktails and sue our server at dinner shinned great food and wine

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in the Peter Britt room on our wedding night. The service was excellent. The location of this historic Inn was perfect as it is situated on the main street through Jacksonville. This provided for short walks to shopping, dining, nightife, and the Britt gardens. The room was nice (the decor was a bit dated). It was clean, quiet, with a comfortable canopy bed. The Peter Britt room had a jetted tub as well.

The wine shop at the Inn has a tremendous selection for fairly reasonable prices. In the evening when the wine shop is closed, guests can order wine/champagne by the bottle in the restaurant at wine shop prices (to be taken back to the room).

The restaurant has rather dated decor. I wouldn't call it historic. Other than that it is top notch - excellent service and fare.

Room Tip: At check-in the Inn may give you an upgraded room at a reduced price or at no extra charge if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We always look for vintage hotels during our road trips, and this one turned out to be very nice. Even though it was a busy street, the room was quiet and comfortable and we enjoyed our night here. There was a parking lot in the back so parking was easy. The breakfast in the restaurant was really fantastic. Everything was fresh and perfect with attentive service. We only had one complaint/suggestion that would have made our experience at the inn more pleasant. We are used to having some kind of snack or beverage provided in the evening, especially in nicer hotels and where there is no fridge/microwave available in the room. There was nothing here at all...no tea, no coffee, no cookies, not even a bottle of water. We were told that there would at least be coffee/tea in the hallway early in the morning. When we went to get a cup of tea at the scheduled time, the water in the thermos was barely warm so the tea bag did not brew at all. (I can't say whether the coffee was good since neither of us are coffee-drinkers). So the lack of snacks in the evening and tepid water in the morning were disappointments. Otherwise, we had a very nice stay at this inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieJville, Owner at Jacksonville Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
TRIP ADVISOR- "VERY NICE STAY"- RESPONSE

Apologies are extended for not having hot water available for the guests' morning tea. This error apparently occurred because the insulated containers that store the tea water were not adequately pre-warmed. In the 37 years that we have owned The Inn, this is the first time we have ever encountered a problem: and we will certainly make every effort to be sure of never having a re-occurrence. Along with morning tea and coffee, our guests can also enjoy complimentary freshly baked, Inn-made Biscotti.

Since the Jacksonville Inn is a historic property built in 1861, we endeavor to conceal the modern conveniences that customer's desire. Each room has a refrigerator that is concealed in an antique-replicated cabinet. It is likely the guest did not open the cabinet to find the refrigerator. In a similar situation, a few years ago, we had a departing guest express disappointment that the room did not have a television. In fact, the TV was in a concealed cabinet just like refrigerator.

Since we have a wine and gift shop on site that is stocked with snacks, we have always assumed that this availability would suffice for afternoon snacks. The Inn serves lunch at 11 a.m. until 2 p.m. and we begin serving meals in the Bistro Dining Room at 4 p.m.We also have four cottages that have refrigerators and microwaves as well as honor bars that are stocked with beverages and snacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
17.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
15.4 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
15.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
6.0 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Inn

Property: Jacksonville Inn
Address: 175 E California St, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9451
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in one of gold-rush Jacksonville's early permanent structures, the Jacksonville Inn perpetuates the nostalgic romances of that era. Built in 1861, the walls of the dining area and lounge were built of locally quarried sandstone, and specks of gold are still visible in the mortar. The town is the first in America to be named a National Historic Landmark, and Jacksonville has preserved its 19th Century charm.Located in the heart of this national landmark town, The Inn is an elegant historic bed and breakfast featuring luxurious Honeymoon Cottages. Gerry Frank of the Portland Oregonian named the Inn as the "Most Romantic" lodging in Oregon.As one of Oregon's most acclaimed restaurants, it received the Medford Mail Tribune's "Readers' Choice Award" for five consecutive years as "Best Restaurant." The Wine and Gift Shop has over 2,000 wines and received Wine Spectator magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence," one of 600 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Inn Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing