We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jacksonville Inn, Jacksonville, OR, Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jacksonville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacksonville Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shady Cove, Oregon
1 review
“Jacksonville Inn, Jacksonville, OR, Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a lovely dining room, with excellent food and service. The ambience is old-fashioned and intimate, with tables lit with fixtures that appear to be candles, but enough ambient light to see the menu and your companions. It is suitable both for couples and groups of friends. I am a widow, and I often dine here in comfort with female friends.

Our server, Molly, was charming and accomodating. All of the food served to us was delicious. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    22
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
105
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A good selection of very comfortable rooms, each with a unique theme. Very clean. Coffee and biscotti served in the hallway in the morning. Excellent full menu breakfast included. The dining room serves an excellent dinner as well. Nice fully shaded (or heated if need be) patio dining. We hope to return.

Room Tip: virtual tours of rooms available on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed a long weekend for our anniversary this June. The staff knew of the occasion and were more than courteous. The venue is wonderfully restored and decorated and the restaurant is absolutely first rate food. The town is really well restored and in the shops you can leave a lot of cash behind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had anticipated this evening's stay for over two years and weren't disappointed. Jacksonville is a treat in itself and the Inn's restaurant served food as good as we have eaten in London or Tokyo. My husband had razor clams. My Marion Berry strudel was perfection. The choice of wines was astounding. The staff was attentive. We loved it all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theopenboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped for a couple of nights in Jacksonville on our drive through Oregon and loved the inn - the detour was well worth it. We were upgraded to one of the cottages which was lovely - so thank you. The cottage was clean, well equipped with spa bath, large shower and kitchenette - and loved all the little extras. The gardens around the cottage were well maintained. We ate in the restaurant in the main inn and loved the old world charm and the food was excellent. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Jacksonville town is small, historic and quaint - loved all the shops. We had our own personal tour on the trolley bus.

Room Tip: Loved the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Jacksonville nearly became a ghost town when the logging and mining industries faded and the railroad went to Medford. But the good people decided to become a living history town and saved many many hsitoric buildings of which one is the Jacksonville Inn. You can either stay is one of the rooms in the historic inn building or one of the larger cottages they have a couple of blocks away. We were upgraded to a cottage for our anniversary and enjoyed it.

The cottages are all very plush and well appointed and well maintained. The decor is a little 80's but is very well done. Our cottage had a HUGE shower and tub as well as several flat screen TVs and an alarm clock that let us dock our iPod which I always think is a great amenity.

In addition to the Inn you get access to the wonderful restaurant in the basement and first floor of the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarnes199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We love our stays at the J'ville Inn. Everything from the décor to the beautiful gardening and flowers beds welcome you. A little bit of a history lesson with every room. The staff, at every level, is most helpful and responsive. Whenever we travel to Southern Oregon - for Shakespeare, Britt, or jazz festivals - we look forward to staying at the Inn. The combination of hotel and great dining can't be beat.

Henry D

Room Tip: Enjoy one of the cottages. They are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
17.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
15.4 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
15.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
6.0 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Inn

Property: Jacksonville Inn
Address: 175 E California St, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9451
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in one of gold-rush Jacksonville's early permanent structures, the Jacksonville Inn perpetuates the nostalgic romances of that era. Built in 1861, the walls of the dining area and lounge were built of locally quarried sandstone, and specks of gold are still visible in the mortar. The town is the first in America to be named a National Historic Landmark, and Jacksonville has preserved its 19th Century charm.Located in the heart of this national landmark town, The Inn is an elegant historic bed and breakfast featuring luxurious Honeymoon Cottages. Gerry Frank of the Portland Oregonian named the Inn as the "Most Romantic" lodging in Oregon.As one of Oregon's most acclaimed restaurants, it received the Medford Mail Tribune's "Readers' Choice Award" for five consecutive years as "Best Restaurant." The Wine and Gift Shop has over 2,000 wines and received Wine Spectator magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence," one of 600 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Inn Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing