We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a great time!”

Segway of Jacksonville
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.95*
and up
Glide Through History - Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the carriage house at the historic George Hayes property (built in 1888) at 360 North Oregon Street. Come to the end of our brick paved driveway and check in, to begin your own Segway Experience in the historic Gold Rush town of Jacksonville. Training (and helmets of course) are provided - and we supply you with your very own Tour Guide to escort you through this National Historic Landmark District and educate you on its Wild West past! Or rent by the hour to create your own self-guided adventure (we have maps and great tips on where to explore!). We have a waiting area and picnic tables in the shade - perfect for family members who just want to watch, take pictures, or hang out. Shopping, coffee shops and restaurants are all within a block or two!! Open 7 Days a Week Summer (9:30-5:30), (Summer [June through September]: Half-Days on Sunday - from 1:00PM to 5:00PM; Non-Summer [November through May]: Closed Sundays)
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really a great time!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Our teenage grandson and niece had a great time! We are planning on the whole family doing this over the holidays. They give lessons before starting the tour to make sure everyone is a skilled driver. Absolutely would do this again and wish I had my own Segway at home :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nana541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayOfJvilleOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Segway of Jacksonville, responded to this review, 12 May 2017
{Updated Response}

Thanks for the review - Yes we get LOTS of family events, groups, get-togethers, reunions, break-out sessions, bachelor and bride parties, birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, and on and on!! Want to have fun? Give yourself permission, create a reason, invite someone else - then come see us! Reservations recommended!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OREGON
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent adventure!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Don't worry that you won't be able to ride one of these. You'll get lots of instruction and practice before heading out. This was money well spent. Learned a great deal about the area and saw more than we could have on foot. I would definitely do this again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank schoong324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayOJOffice, Public Relations Manager at Segway of Jacksonville, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Updated Response - we promise to take plenty of time to help you get comfortable with riding your very own Segway Personal Transporter. Virtually anyone can learn to do this -- with a little patience from your Trainer, and some willingness to learn something new!! We teach you how to relax and enjoy. Good times promised!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SEGWAYIN' YOUR WAY”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fun !!!!! They provide you with a thorough preview and training session, and then you are off on your own !!!!! They answered all questions, had you "run a course" to get familiar with the machines, and gave you maps and directions (although Jacksonville is small enough it would be difficult to get "lost.) The price is very reasonable. I felt safe and comfortable when I left the property, in control of my Segway - I had a blast and I'd do it again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayOfJvilleOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Segway of Jacksonville, responded to this review, 12 May 2017
{Updated Response}

Thanks for the review - and please do come see us again! If it was fun before - it should be LOADS of fun on your return visit with us!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun historic tour”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This our first time operating a Segway. We received about 30 minutes of instruction and were off like pros. The tour was well planned and gave us a lot of history of Jacksonville. Our tour guide Betty is from Jacksonville and clearly knew a lot about the town. The tour included stories about downtown buildings, the Britt festival grounds and the historic cemetery. The total time was 2.5 hours including the instructions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CLH1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayOfJvilleOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Segway of Jacksonville, responded to this review, 12 May 2017
{Updated Response}

All (maybe just most) of our customers feel like pros! We get you trained, comfortable, and then entertained with history, stories, and gliding fun. Amazing Views.

Don't forget to come see us again - we have multiple tour routes and lots of new material to go through in our tours!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic jacksonville!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Jacksonville is such an amazing place for the size of the town. I would encourage travelers to spend at least a few days getting to know the area. The Segway tour I spent time with had a very knowledgeable lady, who pointed out many buildings with history. The story that stood out to me was about a gun-fight that took place during early gold-rush days, and right on that spot is an old brick wall that to this day has bullets from that fight. Stories of Indians and cowboys... many old buildings that bring the past to life. Don't think you are finished after your Segway tour!! Now its time to head up to the most amazing Cemetery EVER!! In Early October the cemetery comes to life with actors dressed in the clothing of the period, standing on the graves of those pioneers telling the stories... its so amazing!! But no matter what the season, Christmas or July, this little town is a destination, with concerts in the Summer or beautiful Christmas decorations and shopping in the Winter... Check it out!! :) Don't forget to try some of the best coffee in the coffee shop with original wood-plank floors and many paintings and Antiques! Delightful!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rndthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayOfJvilleOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Segway of Jacksonville, responded to this review, 12 May 2017
{Updated Response}

Thanks for telling about your experience! We have stories, facts, history, details, and more stories ... all while riding around Historic Jacksonville on Segway Personal Transporters! Great fun!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway of Jacksonville also viewed

 

Been to Segway of Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing