We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxed setting”

Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxed setting”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really enjoyed the melange of setting, culture and history...and enjoyed my Reuben too! There was a bit of a long wait for our orders.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    66
    23
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy German Food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stopped for lunch and had a very nice experience. The restaurant was quiet and our server attentive. The food came out in a timely fashion, hot and delicious. The server suggested our beers and they went perfectly with our food. The atmosphere was fun and prices reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“authentic german food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a nice restaurant that serves authentic german food. I couldn't believe it! The food was good - I ordered a brat and it wasn't what you would get at a ballpark- the service was good, and price was reasonable. There was live music playing, and was enjoyable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jonathan_899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent German Food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best time of year to visit this restaurant is spring or fall - not for the food, but for the view. Sit outside and enjoy it.
In addition, you get wonderful food along with fun service.
I don't normally eat sausage but the chicken sausage is very good. They have the best pretzels and I have to have one everytime.
My husband has never cared for sauerkraut but he loves theirs.
The inside of the restaurant is also wonderful as they have made it german but you can see some history of the building.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malonelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good German Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food was wonderful, but the service was slow. The hostess was also our waitress so she was difficult to locate at times. The restaurant was not busy and we weren't sure why it took so long to get our food. The sausage sampler was good (sausages a bit overcooked) with potato salad and cabbage. There seemed to be an adequate number of kitchen people - several went by our table. (On the way outside for breaks?) We will go again if we are in the area, and hope it was just an off day when we were there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus also viewed

 

Been to Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing