We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had stayed at the hotel last year; it was a so nice that when we planned to visit again this year we called Wendy at the front desk to say we were coming up again at the end of April. We were bringing my Mom this time so there would be 3 of us. Wendy suggested we might like one of the several cottages downtown that they offer....king room with a queen bedroom attached. It was very homey...fireplace, comfy beds, clean linens, a front porch on "C Street" - that is one block off the quaint Jacksonville downtown shopping and dining area!!! Not noisy at all-everthing within walking distance. We got a voucher for breakfast with a selection of several places-we chose the Mustardseed both mornings-great food, fun, efficient staff!
We made sure we called Wendy before we left to thank her and we would like to extend our thanks again here...she was wonderful and made sure we were comfortable and had everthing we needed. We were half way home to California and got a phone call that we had left one of our phone chargers-she offered to mail it to us and 2 days later, we had it. We have plans for many return visits...we will always hope there is room for us at The Wine Country Inn...

Room Tip: Ask for Wendy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    39
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Was recovering from a trip down the Rogue river and waiting for our flight out of Medford the next day. Myself and the other survivors weren't looking forward to spending our last day/night in the various uninspired motels near the airport and took a chance at a small selection of places in Jacksonville. We got lucky with the Country House Inn and went for a lengthy afternoon/evening walk through the historic section of town, enjoying a fine evening of walking and dining. At the end, we finished the evening with a bottle of local Moscato on the hotel patio. The next day, we had a nice but unimpressive simple "continental" breakfast consisting of pastries, bagels, coffee, juices, etc. Not anything that required the services of a kitchen staff. Overall, the stay was pleasant, simple, and relaxing.

Room Tip: No swimming pool. No identified need for significant room service unless something in the room is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for a week in August while attending an art retreat. The town is wonderful...great old buildings with lots of character! The Wine Country Inn is one of a number of properties managed by Country House Inns. Our room was nice, and the beds were very comfortable. It was nice to have a refrigerator too, since it was quite hot during our stay. The continental breakfast was a nice thought, though I was told after the first morning, that the decaf coffee was a "special order" and I'd have to wait for it. We had to be in class at a certain hour, so ended up going up the street to get coffee at a drive-thru. The scones were OK, but there seemed to be some inconsistency in baking...overdone & underdone. At any rate, appreciated the effort. I would recommend this place, since it is clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fc646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family and I were here in Orgeon for the first time, and the Wine Country Inn made our experience very pleasant. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff was pleasant and helpful. The location was also great, close to shops, restaurants all within walking distance. I would Definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

This place was just lovely. Greeted by very pleasant young woman with great sense of humor. Room was very clean, smelled great. Lots of space in dressing area of room. Comfortable bed. Lovely Outdoor sitting areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieoakly127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

The super friendly staff and thoughtful touches made this a wonderful place to stay. Sincerely, all staff was exceptional; the nice linens, homemade morning treats, and a quiet location added a lot.
There were several places to sit outside and read or relax in the shade. It was close enough to walk to many places in Jacksonville...we brought our bikes and rode around the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

When you hear "Wine Country Inn", you think of a quaint little inn surrounded by vines, right? Well, this one ain't! It is nothing more than a motel on a busy road! Even the picture is misleading!
And breakfast? Well, no not really - just a pot of old coffee and some scones (I think) as you head on down the road!

Room Tip: Can't help you here. We were looking for a different experience and the Wine Country Inn did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydiaInnkeeper, Manager at The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
I would like to sincerely thank you for leaving us a review and regret that your recent stay was a disappointment. We take guest comments, both good and bad, with the same degree of seriousness. Reviews and comments allow us to know which way we should progress in bettering our guest’s experiences.

Our name, “Wine Country Inn,” is not meant to be misleading. Jacksonville is often called the gateway to wine country as there are more than 60 wineries offering award-winning wines in the local area. It is because of that, that we chose “Wine Country Inn.” We have a wide variety of lodging accommodations in Jacksonville; ranging from the McCully House, Reames House, Wine Cottages, and Pine St. Cottage. The uniqueness of our locations allows us to find the best match for each of our guests. I would have gladly arranged for you to stay in the room that suited you best. It is our goal that all our guests enjoy their stay with us, wanting to return. In keeping with our name, we also offer two unique wine packages that have been widely popular with our guests. In addition, we offer a wide range of local wines for purchase at the Front Desk.

A standard continental breakfast is included in the accommodations at the Wine Country Inn. We offer assorted scones, freshly brewed coffee, tea and juices. If you are looking for something more substantial Jacksonville has several excellent eating establishments within walking distance. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
17.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville

Property: The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville
Address: 830 N 5th St, P.O. Box 1316, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9028 (Formerly The Stage Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside historic downtown Jacksonville, the Wine Country Inn (formerly the Stage Lodge) is the perfect spot to explore all that Southern Oregon has to offer. Offering 40 rooms and suites, the Wine Country Inn is situated just outside the historic district of Jacksonville, close to all the shopping, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing