We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Back Porch Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family owned and operated since 1989, the Back Porch Bar & Grill, formerly known as the Back Porch BBQ, can be found in the Historic town of Jacksonville, Oregon. Serving up authentic Texas Style BBQ, Steaks, Burgers, Sandwiches, Wraps, Entree Salads, and so much more, the Back Porch Bar & Grill will please even the pickiest eaters of your group. Whether your destination is Historic Jacksonville or the Applegate Wine Country, the Back Porch Bar & Grill is definitely the place to eat before or after your visit. Our city boasts its designation as a National Historic Landmark, having preserved its Gold Rush Roots from the 1800s. The Back Porch is filled with wagon wheels, saddles, and pictures from a long forgotten era, keeping with the theme of our historic city. For the over 21 crowd, our bar is the perfect place to eat, relax, have a drink, watch a game, and enjoy catching up with friends. We feature some great local wines, beers, and amazing signature cocktails. Open 7 days a week, the Back Porch Bar & Grill invites you to "kick off your boots and stay awhile."
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Best BBQ in the valley, hands down! Friendly staff and great service. Triple pork sandwich cannot be beat and the longhorn combo for BBQ is the only way to go! They even make their own salad dressing.

Thank Kendell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Back Porch rocks! We go every Friday night (sometimes Saturday too) because the food is amazing and the service is excellent. You feel like you are part of the Back Porch family as soon as you walk in. The menu has something for everyone, and everything is so yummy! I always recommend Back Porch if anyone is looking for a delicious and friendly place to eat. By the way it was rated best BBQ in Southern Oregon, enough said!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmberRSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived on 5/10/2014 around 5pm. When we entered, a hostess person (I guess that is what she was as she never bothered to introduce herself) anyway, this girl came up all flustered and said that maybe we should just sit over by the window or something because they were expecting some large groups and she didn’t know how long it would be before we had to leave. You read that right – that is how it went down as soon as we stepped foot in the door. We are well-dressed senior adults with the obvious means to order and pay for anything we would like to eat. We have never been turned away or treated so badly before. Well, read on; it gets worse.

Then, Jayme/Jamie (a female I believe to be one of the owners) came up and said that maybe we should just sit in the bar since maybe we would not be so rushed in there. RUSHED???? We came for dinner – and we had not even yet been seated. We should have left right then. We were feeling that, gee, our business must be some sort of inconvenience but agreed to try the bar. we were seated at a 4-seater table but barely enough room between us and the next family at the adjacent 4-seater to even more our elbows. The other family immediately looked uncomfortable with strangers pretty much sitting in their laps.

We moved to a different 4- seater over by the wall. When the waitress brought our water, she said “well, you can sit there if you want but you will probably be asked to move when our groups arrive”. Please note that there were no “reserved” signs on any tables. Therefore, one could ordinarily assume any seat was open.

At that point, pretty much in shock and wondering if we were on candid camera, we just got up and sort of stumbled out of the restaurant in a daze of disbelief. I sat in the car for a minute and decided to go back in and confront the manager. That person turned out to be Jayme/Jamie. She started all this “so sorry” business to which I replied I wanted an explanation to why she allowed this as she had been an on-looker and participant to the entire event. She said that “well, we have a lot of group reservations tonight and we…..” I interrupted to say that if they could not accommodate a particular influx, they should not have accepted the reservations OR they should have closed to the general public; One or the other.

I told her we would never be back. To which she rudely stated “sorry this one incident changed your mind about us”. One incident? Was a little more than an “incident”. We were paying customers and not some kind of inconvenience and we were not asking for anything other than a standard acceptable level of service and some food. That is what they do, right?
Sidebar: Their BBQ menu is WAAAYY over-priced. The rest is not so bad. We had eaten there once before on a week evening. Burgers were okay. Fries were from a frozen bag. Just an average place with above-average prices and totally unacceptable service. Don’t waste your time or money. They do not appreciate your business. That is what we did. We went down the street and spent our money elsewhere and were treated with dignity and respect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank RexandKaty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Owner at Back Porch Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

As I said when we spoke on Saturday night, I am very sorry for the confusion you received upon trying to be seated, therefore, not wishing to eat at our restaurant.

I understand your frustration, as the seating issue at the time was limited due to the multiple reservations that were coming in shortly and the many customers that were already seated out front. What we should have explained immediately was the that front was full, and you are welcome to sit in the lounge at the available table, or we could put your name on a waiting list. I am very sorry that we did not communicate this with you properly.

Being a family owned and operated restaurant, our customers are the reason we are here, and we appreciate them more than I can ever explain. I am very sorry that we have lost you as one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Large portions well worth the money. Decent sweet potato fries. Friendly staff. Great service. No regrets!!

Thank builder4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Owner at Back Porch Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for coming to our restaurant and taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you again, when you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Being from Texas.... This restaurant definitely goes above and beyond alllll expectations!!! The menu is filled with anything you could ever want from BBQ brisket to wraps to appetizers including sliders which won't break your budget at $2.50 each. Their mouthwatering 1/2 lb burgers are freshly ground on premises... Locally owned and operated everything is made from scratch..... Absolutely the best for this little town in Oregon!! Service is spunky and personal.... It's our "go to" for special occasions as well as stopping spot after work for a beverage in their awesome bar!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebbieandEdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Owner at Back Porch Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We really appreciate you both, and are very happy to have you as customers and friends!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Porch Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Back Porch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing