We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, not too high priced.”
Review of The Outpost

The Outpost
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent food, not too high priced.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had a salad with grilled chicken and it was decent. My colleagues had their order a bit messed up, but overall it was a decent meal for a decent price. I'll try it again when I'm in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    73
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Incredibly. . . Average”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

1. Black fly inside that wouldn't leave us alone.
2. Dry, barely flavored chicken fajitas.
3. Only one refill on water.
4. Food took forever to arrive.
5. Waitress shrugged disinterestedly when I asked if the cheesecake had walnuts because I have a life-threatening allergy.
6. They messed up my mom's food order.

All in all, the only reason we were glad we came was because it got us out of shopping and cooking while on the road. Will not come here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We ate here twice during our stay, the food was very good and here was a lot of selection. The huckleberry cheesecake was delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mmonkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Suspect Great Lunch / Dinner Too”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Good food, reasonable prices and friendly wait staff. Nothing fancy, but the standards done well. Western décor is fun and fitting for the town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiefool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burger so-so pizza”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My family stopped at The Outpost on the way to the Oregon Coast. My wife's burger was excellent while the pizza was just so-so. The crust was much too dense for my taste but the cheese, sauce and toppings were good quality. The wait staff was friendly and courteous but the waitress never checked back with us and my drink was never re-filled.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwnflfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing