We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Outpost

The Outpost
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elmira
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Food was wonderful. Ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Great prices. Very nice and friendly wait staff. Pleasant and quiet restaurant. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannetteWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    69
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

House wine is $2:00 and excellent (maybe homemade) pie is $3:00. How can you go wrong with that? The chicken taco salad lacked sauce--just dry grilled chicken plus salsa and sour cream--but I was able to add an excellent chipotle salad dressing so all was well. The apple crumb pie--a generous portion, heated--was delicious (and only $3:00). Good place t5o visit. (We've been there several times.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lionel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
225 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“I had a great burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say, I stopped, I ate, I enjoyed. What I had was a bacon cheese burger (I had pepper jack cheese) and fries. All were very good. The burger came with a thick slice of tomato and onions and a thousand island type sauce on it. I enjoyed it very much. This restaurant was recommended to me by Tom at the John Day airport. I flew in and was hungry what can I say but.... I stopped, I ate, I enjoyed....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuyWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stopped for breakfast. They did a nice job with my skillet breakfast adjusting it to my special requests. Very tasty. The poached eggs were clearly not poached the traditional way (they were those rubbery eggs you get when you use those little silicone poachers), but they were OK. My fellow traveler had the standard eggs, bacon and pancakes breakfast. And, as he put it, "It was exactly what it should have been." The service was great, very friendly and prompt. And the atmosphere was fun quirky western. It would be a great place to take a family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank portlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a great dinner at this restaurant. I had the pizza, it was very good. All the food coming out of the kitchen looked very good, good portions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Outpost also viewed

 

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing