We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Add my vote!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Day Fossil Beds National Monument

Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Add my vote!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I agree with all the other visitors - our visit was 'wonder-filled!! Watching Jennifer 'unveil' the fossil was awesome, according to my granddaughter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    71
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

If traveling US 26 or OR 19, you need to stop in at the Thomas Condon Paleontology Center. Great informative displays, watch archealogists work on fossils in action, and lots of fossils. Do watch the 15 minute video about the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument. It is very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Capnnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful place I visited in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is one of the most beautiful place I visited during my 3 year's living in the states, the other one is Grand Canyon.

There is no charge to enter the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument.

It is a bit hard to get to and you have to drive or fly your own little plane. The John Day Fossil Beds National Monument has 3 units, I found the most impressive one is the Painted Hills Unit, the Sheep Rock Unit comes second for me, and then the Clarno Unit. There are 5 trails around the painted hill. I especially like the Red Hill Trail. None of them are very long. The best time to take picture is sunset. Please bear in mind that out in this part of the world sunset is rather late. I visited in early June and the sun don't set until after 8 pm. There are so many colors on the hill and the colors changes constantly depends on the weather.

I am so glad I drove a few hundreds mile to see it. You can see all three units in one day, but I would say staying overnight in Mitchell or other nearby town is better. Choices of accommodation could be limited. Please also pay attention to how much gas you have in your car, there is very few places you can fill up once you are in the area.

Definitely a must if you are into photography!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A destination site, not just a pass through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The fossil bed national monument was truly an excellent experience. The John Condon Paleontology Museum gives the visitor not only an excellent idea of what lies in the area, but a much broader understanding of the development of Western Oregon. This would be a great family outing, school trip or anyone who wanted to learn more about the geologic history of Central Oregon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nwnative44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
916 reviews
294 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“MUST SEE THE PAINTED HILLS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

2 hours from Bend are the Painted Hills. This is a must-do day trip. Such beautiful scenery, we thought we had landed on another planted. There are restrooms here and a small picnic area. There are about 4-5 trails in the painted hills area that are short but picturesque. Don't miss this Oregon wonder!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank dshendri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Day Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to John Day Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing