We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine, really.”
Review of Dreamer's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in John Day
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dreamer's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Rickreall, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just fine, really.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

It is quiet, close to an OK restaurant and the price is right and it is clean. In John Day, you probably can't do much better.
Be sure to visit the museum in town, it has a unique view of the Asian history of the area.
The owner was happy and efficient and the room was fine.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oregonfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    43
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
37
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norris, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very pleasant and helpful check-in staff. Room was clean. Mattress was not great but not terrible either. It was our next-to-last night of our trip and we were tired and just needed a place to sleep and get up early to finish our last day. The room worked fine for that and was actually a good value.

Room Tip: We still like the old style motels where you park at the door and this is one of those. We had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siteseers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I needed a room and stumbled upon this hotel. The room had two queen size beds and cost $68.00. What a deal. Everything worked and the room was very clean. This is not the place to celebrate a wedding anniversary unless you want it to be your last but it is very functional and does the job.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Time travel really is possible. I opened the door to my room and walked into 1971. It looked the same, even smelled the way motels did when our family drove to the Grand Canyon. The toilet set came wrapped in one of those "Sanitized for Your Protection" paper strips.
The difference here is Dreamer's Lodge does not feel dingy in the slightest. The rooms are spotlessly clean without even a scratch on the paint.

Keep in mind this is not and never will be a fancy place. But it's dead quiet, just 1/4 block off the main street in John Day and walking distance to all but one of the major restaurants in town.

Only downside: The A/C unit, mounted up high is hard to reach to adjust. I had to step up onto the suitcase shelf in order to reach its controls.

I've stayed here twice and will seek it out again - especially since this motel charges less than half what Best Western down the street does.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nepdxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet, roomy, within walking distance of decent food/drink and economical. Enough said, this place works and we would do it again. Pleasant staff were helpful when we pulled in with out reservations and needed a phone charger.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toveygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Room was very clean and most of all quiet, even though hotel is right downtown. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom super clean. Close to excellent restaurant, just a short walk through back parking lot. The staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannetteWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Dreamers Lodge is old, but not run down. My room was very clean and large. The phone did not work beyond getting a dial tone. The water in the shower was hooked up wrong and I spent a decent amount of time waiting for it to heat up before I realized that I needed to turn the faucet to 'cold' in order to get hot water. No amenities (pool, fitness center, free breakfast, etc) It is within walking distance of restaurants and the bank. Grant County does not offer many choices, so I might stay here again, but I would look around first.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L8nmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dreamer's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamer's Lodge

Property: Dreamer's Lodge
Address: 144 N Canyon Blvd, John Day, OR 97845-1149
Region: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently situated in the center of John Day, one block north of the stop light in downtown. The motel is walking distance from local shops, restaurants, banks, fitness center, post office, but off the main highway for added quietness. Pets are also welcome and we provide complimentary shuttle service service to and from the John Day Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dreamer`s Hotel John Day
Dreamers Hotel John Day
Dreamers Motel John Day
Dreamer's Lodge John Day, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing