We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn John Day
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night. Was a good value in that it had a refrigerator, microwave and was clean and quiet. Large room had 2 queen beds, dresser, table and 2 chairs. Staff was friendly. Free wifi worked well. Coffee maker and coffee. Did not use the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oregonhiker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family stayed here for 3 days and it was a decent hotel. The staff was helpful. The pool was not working and we had to go to the hotel across the street to use their pool. Worth the money but could be better.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty small no matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamarayeugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Front desk clerk was very nice. Beds were very comfortable room was clean overall. But carpet were nasty. Our socks were black with grime. Pool was even more nasty. My child who loves swimming wouldn't go in. We stayed two nights our room was not cleaned.I informed the front desk.The excuse that the maids had a birthday party and probably ran out of time. Really? ??

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank pam148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived at John Day for a new adventure in are travels. Checking into Americas Best Value Inn after reviewing our options online, was a pleasant surprise. We were greeted by Jenny at the front desk who was very warm in her welcome to the Inn and John Day area. She answered our questions in a manner you would expect from a long time friend.
The room was clean and cool. They had anticipated our arrival and set the air at a very comfortable temp, which was nice considering the temp outside was 90 plus. The pool was very well maintained as well as the grounds. We asked the gal working in the parking lot (turns out to be Jenny's daughter) for a recommendation for dinner restaurant of which she recommended El Cocinero...outstanding food and service.
Checking out with the office, once again Jenny was there and thanked us for staying. Feel like we stayed at a friends home. Looking forward to coming back again so as to explore those areas we missed. Most excellent.....thanks to the management and staff....

Room Tip: They were fairly full but we found that our room was fine.....they have pet friendly rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toebesue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have stayed here a few times, mostly because there is not much choice for lodging in John Day. During our spring visit our room was never serviced. This time, our carpet was so disgustingly filthy that socks literally turned black after merely a few steps. It looked liked a road tar crew tramped in and out. The room next to our went unserviced. The staff/management were indifferent, uncaring and unhelpful. Would never return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gl0bal_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Some guests were harsh on this motel..The reality is that its not that bad. Sure,the indoor pool/spa was a bit run down, but the room was fine. Clean and comfy. Yes, it's an older building, a bit rustic.The lady who checked us in was very pleasant. It is a very small town here so its either The Best Western down the road ( their rates were way too much)or this motel. We were on a mission ( and a budget) to stay at hotels/motels that were better than a generic Motel 6(the absolute worst motel chain in history)So far we were doing great on our roadtrip thru Oregon/Idaho/Washington State.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We loved the cleanliness. Our bedding was a duvet and duvet cover . Our room was large and our son stayed in an adjoining room. Very handy. We talked about staying another day as we were so comfortable there. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Patti F. Pendleton

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pffmwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliann E, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Patti,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here. We strive to meet the needs of our guests and it makes us proud to have met yours. We are constantly trying to improve the look and feel of our hotel. It's great guests such as yourself that are able to take the time informing us of their stay that makes that possible. We do hope to be seeing you in Grant County and that you again, choose to stay with Americas Best Value Inn of John Day. There are many wonderful things to do and see in this little town of ours and with Summer just around the corner, the weather is sure to be nice. Book your reservation early to insure your stay as we do tend to fill up during the busy season. Thanks again and we hope to be seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Americas Best Value Inn John Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn John Day

Address: 390 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1074
Region: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn John Day 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn John Day reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn John Day Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing