We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and no frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn John Day

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn John Day
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked this through TripAdvisor and was very pleased with the price. I was very happy upon checking in that my room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. It is a nice location, many restaurants within walking distance. It is an older facility but has been kept up nice. Friendly folks at the front desk. I had a nice sleep and the wifi worked great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    34
    25
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
35
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a clean, comfortable stay. The staff were helpful and the room was fine. The key worked but I was turning the handle the wrong way, and ended up locking myself out of the room, but the front desk quickly got me back in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Q1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed here a few times over the past 2 years. It was horrible last summer and we mentioned it to the management. Last week (July 2014) it was much improved. Clean rooms with proper service provided. Staff was much better, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0bal_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for good value in an average small town motel this is a good choice. The room was large, adequately appointed and the bathroom had a very large counter space. The bed was VERY comfortable. My only suggestion to the staff was that the carpet could have been cleaned more thoroughly. My bottom line requirement for a hotel is that it must be clean. By no means am I suggesting that my room was dirty, only that it could have be cleaned better. That is common find in hotels.

Room Tip: If you are able to manage stairs, I would suggest a room on the second floor. The normal movement o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwnative44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the check in we were treated very well by everyone! My wife commented on the great quality of the bed linens. If you need a wonderful place to stay THIS IS IT!!! We were here for a regional motorcycle rally. What a fantastic area to explore?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineCorpsByChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night. Was a good value in that it had a refrigerator, microwave and was clean and quiet. Large room had 2 queen beds, dresser, table and 2 chairs. Staff was friendly. Free wifi worked well. Coffee maker and coffee. Did not use the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonhiker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family stayed here for 3 days and it was a decent hotel. The staff was helpful. The pool was not working and we had to go to the hotel across the street to use their pool. Worth the money but could be better.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty small no matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamarayeugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these John Day hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN John Day Inn
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn John Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn John Day

Property: Americas Best Value Inn John Day
Address: 390 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn John Day 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn John Day reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn John Day Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing