We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with clean rooms and great customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western John Day Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with clean rooms and great customer service.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a new hotel and is well kept. We pulled into town after midnight and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Clean, fresh rooms were a welcome sight after traveling all day. I did downgrade the overall experience due to the cramped quarters for the continental breakfast. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSUtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    113
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
90
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Recently we were travelling around Oregon with our last stop to be 2 nights in John Day before heading home. The day before heading to John Day, an emergency came up and we had to cut the trip short and head for home immediately. In calling Best Western in John Day to cancel reservations - would like to compliment the staff for being understanding and apologetic for having to cancel.
Hopefully in the next few weeks we can make a trip to John Day and we will reserve Best Western again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is one of the better Best Westerns we've stayed at. The rates are good. Our room was a suite on the bottom floor. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and the beds were super comfortable. The staff was friendly and the location was within walking distance of food and shops. The pool was nice. The continental breakfast was fairly standard. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a standard Best Western that serves a standard breakfast.

We were assigned room 208 which is a dark main room with a cheerful bedroom that happens to overlook a building containing a boiler that goes on an off during the night wakening us and our neighbors.

When I (and others I heard) asked about the source of the noise, the desk clerk said it was the boiler expressing no concern or offering no apology that it disturbed our sleep. We found this cavalier attitude to be extremely annoying. In many decades of travel, this is the first time a hotel clerk showed no concern that we failed to get the sleep we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in which you will not be disturbed by the boiler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The first night they put me in a room where the propane pipes apparently clang a lot. I had specfically asked for a quiet room. Then late that night they moved me to another room. It also had long clanging noises. Even better, it smelled like smoke, and some guy came in at 1 am while I was trying to sleep. Apparently the night shift didn't inform the other shift that I had changed rooms.

The third room they put me in was great. But why did I have to go through all that? And even though they moved me both times I asked, they never apologized or anything. They even said "Oh, we know about 118 and the pipes." If they know about it, why do they keep putting folks in there?

On the plus side, the pool and hot tub were great. Its central location to John Day and restaurants within walking distance was convenient. If you're a sound sleeper, you'll like this place just fine.

Room Tip: Stay away from 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Clean and comfortable, conveniently located to visitor attractions. Good breakfast, excellent coffee. Staff was friendly and helpful. The Lobby has copies of local menus to help narrow down dinner choices. Air conditioner cooled well but was noisy. Our room was close to Highway 26 and traffic noise was an issue. On-site parking spaces are narrow and insufficient in number, although nearby street parking is available. We will say here again but in a room farther back from the highway.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert_Searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for the great review. I'm glad to hear you had a good experience. Thanks for choosing Best Western John Day Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The rooms are claen and of average size, bed is comfortable and the rates are quite good. It is just off of US 26 and you can walk to a couple of restaurants. Very helpful staff that made reservations for us at Snaffle Bit dinner house
Continental breakfast was pretty standard fare

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maithean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah H, Front Office Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad the staff was helpful and breakfast was good. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Best Western John Day Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western John Day Inn

Property: Best Western John Day Inn
Address: 315 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western John Day Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western John Day Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western John Day Inn Oregon
John Day Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing