We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXPENSIVE for this Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western John Day Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Newhall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE for this Area”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Modern - Clean - Overpriced - Overpriced - for the area..
There are other modern nice motels for less but not knowing the area or town who knew.. So spend 40 dollars too much for this motel and eat at McDonalds..

Town closes at sunset - eat early - McDonalds IS open late.. Nice area.
Old logging town.. Interesting history..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MrHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    113
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
90
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first going staying here. But, I have to admit they exceeded my expectations. I've stayed at a lot of hotels due to my job and this one competes with some of the big chains. It is nicely decorated with granite counter tops. The beds are amazing! The bedding was nice clean white, and the flat screen tv made the other half happy. He was more happy about the biscuit and gravy for breakfast. They even let my furbabies stay (with only a $15.00 charge). Check out was at 11:00. I wasn't over charged, and my specific floor reservation was held despite having a full house. If you are going to the big JD and need someone where to stay you have to stay here! Oh and one last thing the Kcup coffee machine with Kcups for morning ROCKED!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in 112 and couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
251 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is the only place to stay in John Day in my opinion. It was very clean for being somewhat dated, the beds were comfortable and the shower never went cold in the morning even though the hotel was completely full. Parking is a bit cramped as the spaces are narrow and limited. We had to make a last minute reservation the day before our arrival and consequently paid a higher price had we booked earlier...our two queen room was $124 with tax which was high considering location in the middle of nowhere...but with limited accommodations, not surprising. The front desk staff were friendly and I was able to use the personal computer and printer available for guests to printout needed travel documents. We were on the second floor which was nice but all rooms face the parking area so that we could hear the early guests leave in the morning. Breakfast was the standard fare but served in a rather small cramped room that was overly warm with many guests eating. One last note was that the non smoking room smelled of smoke and it appears that guests smoke outside and the air is then drawn into the rooms when the a/c units are running. It was not pleasant and yet there seems little that can be done.

Room Tip: Our room did not appear to be any different than others located around the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel appears to be the nicest hotel in town. It was an average room with average accommodations. It was $100. A night which I found to be a little steep for a midweek room of that quality. The other hotels in town also appear to average but at half the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Arrived at the BW about 5 p.m. & were told there were only 4 rooms left. Desk clerk said they are always very busy, so if you know this is where you want to stay, might be best to call ahead.
We travelled through NE, COLO, UT, ID & OR over a 2 week period & this motel was the most expensive. Did not appear to be any discounts. Rooms were clean, breakfast room was small, but got there early, so not crowded. For as full as the motel was & with outside doors, we were surprised it was as quiet as it was. Only complaint was the price, as it was higher than any where else we had stayed. Easy walking to restuarants, etc. & appeared to be a nice clean town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
439 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We just spent 2 days here while exploring the John Day Fossil Beds. The beds are very comfortable with a pillow top. The staff is very nice. Like all of the hotels in John Day, this one also has exterior doors, so if you want to sleep in and people are leaving early from the parking just outside the door...it gets a little noisy.
There are many restaurants within easy walking distance, and the hotel has menus from local restaurants available in the lobby, and some discount coupons too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Best Western John Day Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western John Day Inn

Property: Best Western John Day Inn
Address: 315 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western John Day Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western John Day Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western John Day Inn Oregon
John Day Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing