We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A teeny spec of goodness in the heart of downtown Joseph”
Review of Old Towne Cafe

Old Towne Cafe
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We have eaten here in 2008 and again recently. It is so good that we want to give it a positive review for travelers to this part of Oregon.
Bend, oregon, USA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A teeny spec of goodness in the heart of downtown Joseph”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Tiny restaurant that is worth getting up early for to get a seat! The service is excellent, and the breakfast is good. I ordered the breakfast bagel and they easily substituted an item for me. My only suggestion with that particular item is to skip the cheese. You don't need it and the shredded cheese on this dish makes it messy. My husband had a typical bacon/eggs/potatoes breakfast and he was very satisfied. The cinnamon rolls coming out looked delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanderson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    47
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kind of small so get there early for breakfast”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A friend and I happened to be right out side the door when this cute little place opened at 7 AM for breakfast. We could tell it was a town favorite as it didn't take long for all the seating to fill up. Food was good, hot and plentiful. Great place to go for biscuits.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I just had the very tasty oatmeal, but the menu was fantastic; filled with items made for people trying to eat healthy. My regret is not being in Joseph long enough to try other breakfast dishes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ukulelemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
848 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Inexpensive yet excellent breakfast small town charm”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were on our way to Wallowa Lake and decided to eat breakfast/lunch here, hoping the variety is better and cheaper than resort lake prices. We were right! This is a small yet charming place. They serve breakfast all day. It has a small courtyard for outdoor seating. The interior is very cute, wooden seating bench/tables.

Our server was very friendly, attentive but not overbearing. We ordered 1/2 of the Old Towne breakfast: thick country style bacon with scrambled eggs, on top of breakfast potato sautee with onions. Fresh drop biscuit, and an amazing salsa with a side of sour cream. Can't imagine who can finish a full order. All for $6.50.

Also ordered the two pancakes with two eggs any style. The pancakes were dinner plate size, half an inch thick!!! Also $6.50 Needless to say, we left very full and happy.

It was apparent that this is a popular local place, as many customers came in and the servers recognized them and knew their usual likes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Salmon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best BLT in the West”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

You know that cafe in that small town where the people were great and the breakfast and lunch was fantastic? This is that place. If there was a BLT Hall of Fame, the Old Town Cafe should be inducted immediately. Really nice lady runs it too. This is the place to start your day in Joseph.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Towne Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing