We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Eagle Cap Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Cap Chalets
BEND
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this place. It's nestled in the Wallowa Mountains. Cozy little area right near the Tram. They allow pets with a small fee; plus they provide dog supplies in the room: a water bowl, snacks, poop bags, towels & sheet (in case your pup sleeps on the bed). The place is family owned ; their pride for care & service is evident. Free coffee coupons each day for their espresso shop. Easy check in and out. Nice pool & hot tub. We would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEORGIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Hood, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff are genuinely nice, helpful people, but that's it for the nice things I have to say. I stayed in one of the condos with the full kitchen. The exterior of the building is quite attractive, but the interior looks like my grandma's basement and smells worse. There is no air conditioning, and on the second floor it was 85-90 degrees inside all the time, even with the windows open and 55 degrees outside. I think someone beneath me was running their fireplace all night. The beds are mattresses atop rough slabs of particle board that I kept bashing my knees into in the tiny room. The bathroom vanity is the smallest I've ever seen and gets super-heated from it's 3 large bulbs (bad when it's already 85 in the condo). The only two comfortable chairs in the living room both had fleas. And last, but not least, you are required to wash your own dishes (by hand) and empty your own garbages if you don't want to be charged an "extra cleaning fee." Naturally, the dishes in the cupboard were not clean. The cleaning staff leaves you an envelope inviting you to tip them for their excellent work, but since we had dirty pillow cases, dirty towels, flea bites, and spent an hour washing dishes and emptying the garbages, I left it empty. The area is awesome, and it was nice to be within walking distance of the tram, but I will never stay at Eagle Cap Chalets again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for two night during our recent road trip. There are motel rooms, condos, and cabins available. We stayed in a two double bed chalet room.

Location: At the south end of Wallowa Lake, within the community of RV resorts, cabins, hotels. Eagle Cap Chalets is right across from a busy RV park. Wallowa Lake state park and the Wallowa Lake tram station are within walking distance. Eagle Cap wilderness has plenty of hiking options. Joseph and Enterprise are with a short drive. One thing about the chalet is that parking seems quite limited, so parking right in front of your room to load or unload might not be possible.

Rooms: The room we stayed in had two double beds. There were a refrigerator and a microwave. The room was quite small for two adults and two children. There was no air conditioning. In the evening the rooms very quite hot. The windows open but there wasn't any real cross ventilation. The rooms were clean, beds were ok. WIFI was available. This place is pet friendly and they let you leave your dog in a crate in the room. There is swimming in Wallowa Lake, and the there is also a small outdoor pool available.

Summary: Overall our stay was ok, we did end up paying $140 per night which for a room without AC is quite expensive. Location is quite nice of course. Would come back but get a bigger room next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rttroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in Cabin 2 for 3 nights Mon - Wed and were elated at the overall look of the resort and then we went in the cabin. "Outdated" is being kind to the interior accommodations. Bedroom too small for a suitcase. Broken down sofa in the living area. When we lifted the cushions to see if it was a sofa bed, found crumbs and candy wrappers and the table was also covered with crumbs and salt. The fridge leaked water on the floor - management left a plastic container with a note attached to not move it so as to catch the drips ?? Seat cushions at the table are torn. No AC, but 1 small table fan is in the cabin. Gas fireplace worked great !! Not much else positive to say, except it was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldenRam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have stayed at this RV park four times now, most recently in August 2012. The park is quiet, clean, and well-kept, and the sites we've stayed at have had grassy lawn areas where the kids can play. Many of the sites have shade from trees. You can walk just about anywhere: to the lake for swimming and fishing; to activities such as mini golf, the Wallowa Lake Tramway, bumper boats and go carts, a horseback riding stable, hiking trails, shops, and little restaurants. Open campfires aren't allowed, so we don't have to worry about asthma attacks from the smoke. Most of the campers in the summertime seem to be retired folks and young families. We're definitely planning to come back next year! (Note: Park at the River is now separate from Eagle Cap Chalets.)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DulcimerWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We registered late, so the only available was the chalets (or hotel rooms). They were clean and comfortable. TV reception wasn't great because of the location and there is no air conditioning, but this is not a place to go and spend indoors. The service was excellent and every employee very pleasant to work with. They give you free coffee coupons to get a coffee every morning in their small coffee shop. They have cabins, condos, and chalets, as well as a meeting room. They are conveniently located in the middle of everything to do. There is an arcade for the kids and a go-kart track above and miniature golf in three areas plus bumper boats. Not to mention a five-mile long, one-mile wide lake to play on and in. We rode our bicycles, took the tram to the top of Howard Mt. and only missed out on riding the horses. We'll accomplish that next year. Great place to take the whole family!! Almost forgot. They have a pool and hot tub on the property, as well.

Room Tip: With no air conditioning, I almost want to suggest a lower floor, since heat rises, but they have ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkhoekst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, OR
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Last Summer, we parked our trailer at "Park at the River" because it was the only place that had a vacancy. For this Summer, we booked 9 months in advance because we wanted to be ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN that we could spend 8 FULL days at Eagle Cap's Park at the River this Summer. All personnel were helpful, gracious and friendly. The park is pleasantly landscaped and bath/shower facilities are clean and well maintained. Their little store offered a few essentials, but within a short walk was a larger "general store" with a modest assortment of "everything trailer travelers should have remembered to pack before leaving home".

It is situated within easy walking distance of many Wallowa area activities. We found the Wi-Fi service to be almost non-existant....what a blessing! We had time to do ALL the Wallowa things and not spend all our time dinking around with the computer. They "forced" us to do fun, active things...whatta deal! YEP, We're excited and eager to be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eagle Cap Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cap Chalets

Property: Eagle Cap Chalets
Address: 59879 Wallowa Lake Hwy, Joseph, OR 97846-8233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Cap Chalets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the Eagle Cap Wilderness at Wallowa Lake. We have cabins, condos, hotel rooms, a conference room, an outdoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eagle Cap Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Cap Chalets Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing