We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decend place on superb spot.”
Review of Eagle Cap Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Cap Chalets
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The room was clean, quite large and has all the amenities you expect of a basic hotel. Only the price, $100 for 1 night, was a bit on the high end. Certainly considering that breakfast is not included. But I guess that's what you pay for the superb location between Wallowa lake and the mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ivo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Eagle Cap Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This could be a great stay but sad to say the rooms are dingy, mattress saggy, carpet needs replacement, grounds could use sprucing up. On a positive note, the two small conference rooms, with complete kitchens are a big plus. $135. plus tax for king (two twins pushed together), should be about $75.

Room Tip: In spite of the dingy rooms, supply & demand reigns for this Wallowa Lake location just a short...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 611Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was just a quick overnight trip with my elderly mom and we certainly picked the right place. The day was hot and the room had no air-conditioning, but they'd closed the drapes and offered a fan, and it was fine. At night we opened the widows and felt the cool mountain air…wonderful! The bathroom was spotless and unlike so many hotels, they left several towels and washcloths. The bedding was also very fresh and the beds firm and not broken down. The TV didn’t get great reception but the hotel book on the table said “If you don’t like the reception, go outside and enjoy the beautiful scenery!” Indeed! Although my mom is no longer able to camp, this hotel gave her an opportunity to enjoy a little of the great outdoors. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 34 on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KrissyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Eagle Cap Chalets is the perfect landing for the myriad recreational activities in the Wallowa Whitman/Eagle Cap Wilderness, and local community adventures surrounding historic Joseph & Enterprise Oregon.

We were warmly greeted and invited to relax in the hot tub or pool and come back in the morning for freshly baked cinnamon rolls and maple bars with locally roasted coffee.

The group event facility had everything we needed to cook and serve 30 attendees.

Activities on or near the grounds included a vintage miniature golf and a gondola ride to the top of Mount Howard (almost 2 miles in 15 minutes!).

Room Tip: We rented a cabin - cozy and private.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I booked the Honeymoon Suite in the Chalet for our 23rd wedding anniversary. The room was not as nice as we thought it would be, but we really did enjoy the big Jacuzzi bathtub. Our only complaint is this: My husband and I are both 54 and not as agile as we used to be. We'd like to suggest that the owners put bars on each end of the tub so that older folks like us can steady themselves while getting in and out of the tub. We were going to make this suggestion when we checked out, but we both forgot! On a happier note, it snowed while we were there and it was just beautiful!

Room Tip: We always forget to ask if the room is on the main floor level, as we travel with a cooler and luggi...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzV030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EaglesViewEnterprise, Owner at Eagle Cap Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We really appreciate hearing your concern! This is the first time someone has raised it, but likely not the first time someone thought it. Therefore we appreciate hearing it so we can put these suggested improvements on our "to-do" list. And you are right, more people should come to Wallowa Lake in the winter and take in the quiet beauty the off-season affords.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I sayed at Eagle Cap Chalet on Sunday night (Sep 15th) and it was wonderful. We stayed in one of the motel units, so I can't comment on the cabins, but they looked very inviting. The staff was most pleasant, even changed our room due to some noisy neighbors next door. The area is just beautiful, the room was very comfortable, small TV, but you are not there to watch TV. Free coffee in the morning and great rolls and muffins. Next time we will stay for a longer time and enjoy all the things there are to do in the area. We would recommend this place to anyone.

Alan & Carolyn Griffin
Lincoln, NE

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walleyechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this place. It's nestled in the Wallowa Mountains. Cozy little area right near the Tram. They allow pets with a small fee; plus they provide dog supplies in the room: a water bowl, snacks, poop bags, towels & sheet (in case your pup sleeps on the bed). The place is family owned ; their pride for care & service is evident. Free coffee coupons each day for their espresso shop. Easy check in and out. Nice pool & hot tub. We would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GEORGIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eagle Cap Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cap Chalets

Address: 59879 Wallowa Lake Hwy, Joseph, OR 97846-8233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Joseph
Price Range: £59 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Cap Chalets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the Eagle Cap Wilderness at Wallowa Lake. We have cabins, condos, hotel rooms, a conference room, an outdoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eagle Cap Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Cap Chalets Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing