We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming B & B in a lovely setting”
Review of Chandlers' Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chandlers' Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Joseph B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I recently spent a comfortable and restful night at Chandlers' Inn while on a driving holiday through Washington and Oregon. Joseph is a charning town, a bit of a tourist trap but that's OK if you happen to be a tourist - plently to see and do especially considering the small size of the community. Chandlers' Inn was built as a B & B so there is none of the little discomforts that come from trying to adapt a family home to hotel use. We stayed in one of the larger rooms, but had a look at the others and they all appeared to be very comfortable. There is plenty of common area anyway. Our bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very well furnished and the breakfast was freshly prepared, delicious and more than ample (we had to beat the owner to make her stop giving us more food). The best part of our experience, however, was the friendliness and hospitality of the owner. We have nothing negative to say about Chandlers' inn and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyVictoria_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

After reading the reviews, we booked one night at Chandlers' on our way through Joseph/Enterprise. We wanted to love the place but couldn't. Pros: walk to shops and restaurants, very nice hosts who try to please, very good breakfast. Cons: the place is a mish-mash of decors; it's basically clean, but is cluttered with "stuff" (like fishing gear or ducks, etc) in hard-to-reach areas that gather dust, so fit elt less-than-clean; the bathrooms (at least ours) were cramped and had squeaky, noisy doors, toilets and cheap fans that could bother other guests - especially at night; the windows had not been cleaned in a very long time; barking dogs in the neighborhood prevented us from keeping windows open; and the side and backyard deck areas are cluttered, unsightly and unattractive; and the price did not reflect the quality of the experience. Because the owners were so nice, I can't say it was an awful experience, but we would not return and can't really recommend it to people who are looking for a B&B with a coherent personality or that is super clean and tidy. In a pinch it would work, but otherwise, not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

LIsa was so fabulous and offered many times to get anything I might need. The breakfast was wonderful with house baked scone, eggs florentine (Benedict), juice and fresh fruit bowl. It was very affordable and I hope to return someday. Also, very cool fact that this was the first BnB in Wallowa County and has been open for 27 yrs. They are not original owners but honor some of the same traditions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Chandlers is a great place to stay, Syd and Lisa were just super! within short walking distance of shopping in the quaint town of Joseph, or cooling off with a swim in Wallowa lake. I highly recommend staying if your going that way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milwaukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The hosts, Lisa and Syd were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts (we stayed three nights) were great and the bed comfortable but worn. I'd suggest trading the "view" of rooms 1 and 2 (we stayed in 2) for the spaciousness and more quiet of 3. We will if we visit Joseph again.

Common area kitchenette is available for guest use.

Room Tip: Room 3 is best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

If you are in Joseph and are looking for a restful home away from home, then stay at Chandlers' Inn. The accomodations are so much better than any hotel could possibly be. My mother and I have now stayed there twice; both times in different seasons. Each stay has been one of surprise and delight. Our surroundings have been serene and majestic. The food is so amazingly delicious, we always wish there were three meals instead of just breakfast! Syd and Lisa who own the Inn are attentive and gracious hosts. If you have an opportunity to stay there you will be glad you did. It is truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glitzmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I have stayed at Chandlers Inn in winter when I was skiing into the Wallowa Mt. Huts.
This summer I stayed with Lisa and Syd for two nights before a backpacking trip that was rained out.
They are perfect hosts: attentive to your needs, yet they leave you alone.
The inn itself is warm and homey, well furnished and spacious.
The breakfasts are great.
I feel like I am coming home when I visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalepeno4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
6.3 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Enterprise
111 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandlers' Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandlers' Inn

Address: 700 South Main, PO Box 243, Joseph, OR 97846
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joseph
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast located on Oregon's beautiful Hells Canyon Scenic Byway, just 5 minutes walk from the art galleries and shops of historic downtown Joseph. Relax and enjoy our wonderful views of the Wallowa Mountains after savoring our country style breakfast, or take part in one of the many recreational outdoor activities available nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chandlers' Inn Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing