We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”
Review of Indian Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for just one night having booked just a couple of days before on the basis of other reviews and were not disappointed. This is a basic motel, but it is clean and nicely decorated with a few nice touches such as provision of cotton puffs and Q-tips and nice soaps. Smoking is absolutely NOT allowed. The beds are on the hard side but comfortable. The rooms have a refrigerator, coffee maker, and DVD player. Note that breakfast is not provided and there is no internet. The property is walking distance from all the shops and restaurants on the main drag, many of which have free internet. On a nice day you can sit at one of the tables out front and enjoy a view of the mountains. Note that the cottages, also part of the Indian Lodge, do not have air conditioning whereas the motel rooms have a window air conditioning unit that was much needed when we were there. We can recommend al fresco (or indoor) dining at Embers Brew House Restaurant and Pub, just a block or so away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txcrusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    30
    8
    0
    8
See reviews for
10
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our second visit to the beautiful Wallowa Mountain area. On our first visit we stayed at the Best Western in Enterprise and we wanted a different experience this time.

The web site for Indian Lodge Motel informed us about their annex, East Street Cottages, which, it says, offers “luxury lodging.” However, the annex lacks several of the amenities “luxury” led us to expect. Our room had no air conditioning, no closet, no blackout curtains, no table, and the smallest TV I’ve seen in a long, long time.

The picture of the place on the web site is accurate. It has a nice lawn in front and in back. There are flowers planted around.

In back we had a table and two chairs. However, since there are no screens between units, we had no privacy when we sat there for a few minutes to enjoy the view.

Our unit came with a microwave, a coffee maker, and a fridge that made so much noise I had to disconnect it in the middle of the night.

Our room was clean and the residential location was quiet, but not “quaint” as described on the web site.

There are few lodging options in Joseph. This place may be as good or better than any of the others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I participated in a road bike ride that ended at this hotel, and we were told when we arrived that we could not take our bikes in our rooms. I refused to leave mine outside and offered to cancel my reservation, but was told that I was within 48 hours and could not cancel. Note that there was no notice or posted policy regarding bikes in the rooms, and we had every expectation that there would be no problem since bikes had been allowed in rooms in previous years. After much arguing that included calls to the manager and owner, our bikes were allowed in rooms. Frankly, I told them flat out that if they gave me a key, my bike was going in my room. If they held my key from me, they needed to cancel my reservation and not charge me.

We were "warned" that next year we could not take bicycles in our rooms and it would be a published policy. REALLY?? This little motel should realize that clients are there for recreation (nothing else in the area) and be more acommodating. I'm shocked that they would expect us to keep our high-end bikes outside since I've never had the problem at much better hotels. If the bikes caused a problem in previous years (their reasoning was wet and mud), they should find a way to house the bikes that would minimize problems or just let clients know they are responsible for damages -- as they would be if they damaged the room by any other means.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crosskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill City, Oregon
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Indian Lodge Motel was great - much better than we were expecting. Nice updated decor inside. Great comfy bed. Spotlessly clean. A perfect restful night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I would recommend this over the more expensive motel chains. We happend to stay by accident, since the other place nearby had no vacancies. We were so tired and had no reservations anywhere. We got the best night's sleep, it is quiet, clean, and the owners where very friendly and helpful. We were traveling cross-country without concrete plans or reservations. If you need all the amenities of big hotel chains, i.e. pool, room service etc. this is not for you. But if you enjoy the peace and quiet, and small town friendliness, you can't go wrong here!

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Hapietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Stayed two nights here, to enjoy the bronzes in town, and Lake Wallowa and the mountains just five minutes away. Property is quite dated, but scrupulously clean, and very quiet. Lots of "Do Not" signs everywhere, and the greeting at the front desk was off-hand and hurried. But the price was right, we enjoyed our stay, and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank osf1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Angel, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

What a nice little motel. It's a step back in time to travel in the 60s but nicely kept up, updated and very clean. Check in was easy and friendly. In a small town, very few places are not central so this location was a good as could be for walking the main street.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
6.1 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Enterprise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mingo Motel
Mingo Motel
#1 of 1 in Wallowa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge Motel

Property: Indian Lodge Motel
Address: 201 S Main St, Joseph, OR 97846-8436
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Joseph
Indian Lodge Motel Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing