We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment”
Review of Indian Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Creek, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have stayed at the Indian Lodge Motel many times over the past
years. Until now, we have never had a complaint. When we needed
accommodations for one night a couple of weeks ago we naturally
called the Indian Lodge Motel. In the process we went on line to their webpage
to get their telephone number. We noticed a few negative reviews but based on previous stays we felt the comments were not in line with our experiences.
WRONG! Circumstances required we needed to cancel our reservation.
We called 24 hr plus in advance and we were told by a rude, insulting and unprofessional women they had a 48 hr cancellation requirement. The man who took our reservation never mentioned cancellation policies during the discussion. The women essentially insinuated we were lying and we were informed of the cancellation policy during our reservation discussion ... although she was not part of our conversation. She did tell us that she would in this case only charge one-half of the bill although she had never done this before. The bottom line is the money becomes a secondary issue. In retrospect, it is a menial amount. If we had been informed, we would have accepted the penalty; however, the penny smart pound-foolish attitude coupled with unprofessional demeanor becomes the issue. In the end, it is Indian Lodge’s loss. It’s a matter of customer respect and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    9
    0
    8
See reviews for
11
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Collins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Goodness... I can easily imagine what kind of motel this is before a stay... just called to make a reservation and some rude lady picked up my call. Apparently, they don't like international clients who have accent. Whenever she couldn't come up with good excuses (after telling something not even making no sense), all she said is "I don't understand what you are saying." So much attitude. I just hope this lady wasn't the owner or some sort - needing serious staff training for hospitality business here. Geez

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank SushiCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Careywood, Idaho
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

After a long drive, we could hardly wait to get to our motel. We had reservations. We arrived only to find that it was closed! Office closed...and only a answering machine with no return call. We also called the emergency number on the door and still no return call.....EVER!!
Imagine being out in the cold and snow all day long only to arrive to a place to find they are closed.....and you had a reservation!!! Instead of being able to go for dinner at that time ...we had to drive around looking for a place with vacancies at 6 pm.
My advice......don't go there....we never got a return call.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was a really lovely stay. The lady on the desk was friendly and helpful and we chatted often. The town is very friendly and welcoming and beautiful with flowers and statues everywhere. The motel is within walking distance of several good restaurants and shops. Our room was well provided with storage space, we had a comfortable bed and a small fridge, tucked out of the way so we didn't hear it working too much at night. It was all very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidaymaker7343Mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Booked at very short notice when visiting Hells Canyon. Checked in early but this did not present a problem. Seemed a little pricey but in a tourist area. Nothing fancy, but very clean room with king size bed and fridge, which was more than adequate for a one night stopover. Close to town for restaurants and only 10 minutes drive from Wallowa Lake. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCakeLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was a very nice room, very basic, fridge, king size bed, close walking to resturants, a little pricey, but it is a tourist town, we drove to wallowa lake, spent the afternoon there, then cameback checked in and went to The Stubborn Mule for drinks and dinner, very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I would like to be rating this place, but after making reservations a few weeks ago, received a call the night before the Holiday weekend that we had no room. Someone didn't write us in a book or something. Funny because they obviously had our name and phone number. Perhaps the weekend got busy and they were able to get a higher rate from someone else. Whatever the reason, there wasn't any way to get something else at that late date and our weekend is ruined. Wanted to ride the scenic byway. As it is now will probably never go back.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lovetotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
6.1 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Enterprise
96 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
58 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mingo Motel
Mingo Motel
#1 of 1 in Wallowa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge Motel

Property: Indian Lodge Motel
Address: 201 S Main St, Joseph, OR 97846-8436
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Joseph
Indian Lodge Motel Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing