We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right motel at an expected price”
Review of Indian Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Completely agree with retired_early_51.
Family run, modest sized, quiet, on the edge of downtown section of Main Street, very walkable. Quiet. Good suggestion for dinner at Embers Restaurant. This was exactly what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

There are not too many choices for nightly lodging in Joseph and for a small town motel this was just as hoped. The staff was friendly and competent at each interaction, the room was small but clean, obviously dated but nice upgrades such as windows, nice bathroom fixtures, good carpet, paint, etc. Simple lodging. Comfortable bed. We had an AC/heat unit which we did not use. The extra vanity sink was nice but as others have said, it would have been nice if they could have had a few hooks for towels. Overall a fine overnight stay. Rating it a 4 (and not less) just because we really had no complaints for what we expected. The room walls were thin but we had good neighbors.

Room Tip: Due to the thin walls, maybe ask for an end unit. There are only 15 or so rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired_early_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice, clean, friendly staff and Joseph is lovely. Beds are very comfy, all is clean. Room is nice size. They do not believe in low flow shower heads here!. A friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location, easy to walk to the whole town. Very motorcycle friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

So many bad reviews on this hotel I felt I needed to add my two cents. We chose to stay here because it was affordable and convenient. We are very glad we did. The staff was very nice. On our way into town, I called ahead to see if I could reserve a room. She said she was happy to reserve it but wanted me to be sure to know that the rooms were not refundable. I appreciated the heads-up. The rooms were clean and quiet. The TV was good with lots of channels. The shower pressure was excellent. The bed was comfortable. Actually more comfortable that the previous 3 higher priced hotels we had stayed in. The location was very convenient to both town and the lake. There was a frig in the room and a microwave just a few doors down. The room had a bit of an odor, but not terrible and sometimes the older hotels do. If we were ever in the area, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here, and it was lovely. Beds are very comfy, all is clean. Room not big, but nicely decorated. Another towel holder in bath would have been nice. A friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location, but walk to whole town. Great place to road bike from--(keep bikes out of rooms!) Be sure to ride the mountain tram at the south end of the lake. Get tour of bronze foundry if available. Again, after reading other reviews, I must say that the people who work here are very, very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, and the bathroom window affords a nice view and cross ventilation. AC works we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Recently spent a night with a group of gals on motorcycles at this quaint motel. The rooms were very cute with down home type quilts on the beds. I shared this 2 double bed room with another gal. There was just a shower, comode and sink in the bath, but there was also a second sink in the main area of the room for a second person to use. Room included coffee maker and refrigerator. Biker friendly in that a bucket of clean rags is handy just outside the office. For an older motel it was a lot nicer than I was expecting.
If you don't mind walking a little you can pretty much walk to most of the businesses up and down the main street from this location.
The town does close up shops fairly early in the late afternoon and many of the breakfast places don't open until 7 AM so if you are an early get on the road riser you may need to just kick back for a bit and enjoy the view of the mountains behind the motel before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have stayed at the Indian Lodge Motel many times over the past
years. Until now, we have never had a complaint. When we needed
accommodations for one night a couple of weeks ago we naturally
called the Indian Lodge Motel. In the process we went on line to their webpage
to get their telephone number. We noticed a few negative reviews but based on previous stays we felt the comments were not in line with our experiences.
WRONG! Circumstances required we needed to cancel our reservation.
We called 24 hr plus in advance and we were told by a rude, insulting and unprofessional women they had a 48 hr cancellation requirement. The man who took our reservation never mentioned cancellation policies during the discussion. The women essentially insinuated we were lying and we were informed of the cancellation policy during our reservation discussion ... although she was not part of our conversation. She did tell us that she would in this case only charge one-half of the bill although she had never done this before. The bottom line is the money becomes a secondary issue. In retrospect, it is a menial amount. If we had been informed, we would have accepted the penalty; however, the penny smart pound-foolish attitude coupled with unprofessional demeanor becomes the issue. In the end, it is Indian Lodge’s loss. It’s a matter of customer respect and service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
6.1 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Enterprise
112 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
92 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mingo Motel
Mingo Motel
#1 of 1 in Wallowa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge Motel

Address: 201 S Main St, Joseph, OR 97846-8436
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Joseph
Indian Lodge Motel Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing