We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallowa Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not really a resort”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Wallowa Lake Resort for 3 weekend nights in the middle of August. We were supposed to stay 4 but left early because it wasn't very nice. We stayed in a one bedroom 'cabin' which I'm sure the pictures were staged because it was really dark in there. The furniture was old, the cupboards were sticky and the light switch in the bathroom didn't work unless you wiggled it. I know they'd made efforts to clean but it was small, dark and dingy. On the plus side, it's in a good location, we saw several huge deer meandering around the complex (about 8 or 10 buildings. It's walking distance to the tram and lake. Wallowa Lake is beautiful and mountains too. There have to be better places to stay though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougInJoseph, Owner at Wallowa Lake Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thanks for your comments. It looks like you stayed in #3 Glacier Lake Cabin. You are the first person in 10 years that has said it was not a nice place. It always booked and everyone seems to enjoy staying there. No one has mentioned the furniture was old. However, that being said, there are two older chairs in the living room that we should consider removing. All of the other furniture in the cabin is less-than 5 years old.

I do agree it is a bit dark in the living room and we will consider putting another window in the living room. We do not stage our photos. We take pictures ever year which keeps our advertising as accurate as possible. We do use a flash when we shoot inside pictures which in this case may not be a good idea.

I am disappointed that our cabinets where sticky and one of our light switches was unreliable. If you stay with us again tell the front desk so they can address issues immediately. Let your hosts have a opportunity to improve your experience or the next guest experience. Good lodging companies always want to address all issues as quickly as possible.

In regard to value, the price for #3 Glacier Lake is $105/night during August. This includes a full kitchen, a deck with propane BBQ, cable TV, free movies and free WiFi. Hotel rooms in the resort community during August are priced at $110/night to $120/night. They do not include this list of amenities. Activities include the tram, boating, fishing, shopping, bumper boats, go carts, horse back riding, not to mention shopping and several restaurants,

If you decide to come back to Wallowa Lake I would recommend calling us a discussing the best fit for you. We are always happy to recommend other lodging companies if we do not have something that meets your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    22
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
42
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yakima Valley, WA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Oh, we loved this resort. Our cabin was spacious, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room, full kitchen, and deck. Our family of five had room to spread out and spend time together on a very snowy, cold weekend. The cabin was nicely decorated, very clean, warm, fully stocked, and the beds were soft and comfortable. We were in town for a funeral, so we all appreciated having such a nice place to come together as a family. We have stayed many places in Joseph and Enterprise, and this is, by far, our favorite.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyMom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My hubby and I have rented the White Fur cabin the past 3 summers on our vacation. We are always pleased with the friendly managers, the cleaniness and cozy cabin ( with every amenity you could ever want or need). It is the perfect location for us and always makes for a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to next year at amazing Wallowa Lake. My favorite place to go with my family!

Room Tip: You can view all their cabins, inside and out on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WashingtonTina_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a nice experience!! We enjoyed our comfortable cabin and welcoming owners. Wallowa Lake Resort was a great place to stay while we explored the beautiful park and surrounding area. October is a good month to visit the park. Not too crowded. Very pet friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Patio Suite for a couple of nights. It is situated in the perfect location, has a big, comfortable deck with a nice gas grill and is the perfect size for one or two people. The cabin was well stocked with kitchen supplies, bathroom supplies and extra blankets.

We were visited by deer, chipmunks and squirrels looking for a treat. It is situated next to the little fish pond, so you can sit on the deck and watch the fish jump and watch the wildlife roaming around.

The price is better than you'll find for most motel rooms in the area and the little cabin offers much more than a boring motel room. The only down side to our stay was the bed. It was very broken down and very uncomfortable. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints about this cabin.

We plan to return next September, and this time, we will be staying at least four nights (probably in a different cabin if the bed doesn't get replaced).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougInJoseph, Manager at Wallowa Lake Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! The homeowner's have replaced the older full sized bed with a new queen bed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were camping at the State Park just down the road when a snow storm blew in. This place was recommended to us to get out of the snow, and it was wonderful! Great place to launch our bike touring from.

Adorable little cabins, including at least one larger one with a fireplace (soooo nice on a cold night). Not to mention the kindness and hospitality of the owners.

A perfect place for the outdoorsy type who want simplicity, comfort, and a great location for launching all kinds of adventures. AND apparently they'll have a hot tub soon, which would just add to the awesomeness of this place. In the interest of full disclosure, the mattresses are a little older and so are the cabins, but none of this detracts even one point from the 5/5 rating: really, this place rocks.

Great trip. Can't wait to come back in the winter for some snow shoeing and board games around the fire :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Enjoyed the cabin we stayed in, right by the office but still felt like we were in the woods - was built in the 30's, redone in spring of 2013 inside, located right in the middle of the activities at Wallowa Lake so you can walk to everything: "Osprey." The owners were extremely friendly and the gal that worked at the front desk on Sunday, was very informative and helpful. There are many, many choices of accommodation rentals handled by this resort - we only needed a small place for two, that accepted a dog. We had a totally functionally (and well supplied) kitchen, a large futon/couch, two full size recliner chairs, tv with cable and free DVD/VHS and a wood burning fireplace (large insert with doors) with all the wood we wanted included in the rental price. The upstairs (yes, 2nd level!) had a queen size bed and two twins, nicely decorated. Little deck out front with table/chairs/umbrella and they even provided a child gate for keeping children (or dogs!) on the deck. It's been over twenty years since I last visited Wallowa Lake and it's nice to know some things stay pretty much the same. Note: recommended six foot leash for dogs -- the deer are plentiful and not at all afraid of dogs or people!

Room Tip: All the accommodations are online and it's a bit overwhelming. Let the folks help you narrow do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Capi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
10.9 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Enterprise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallowa Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallowa Lake Resort

Property: Wallowa Lake Resort
Address: 84681 Ponderosa Ln, Joseph, OR 97846-8184
Region: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide fully furnished luxury rental homes and cozy cabins at Wallowa Lake. Amenities include an outdoor hot tub, wireless internet, king beds, Cable TV, wheelchair accessible units and lake/mountain/river views. Many cabins are pet friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallowa Lake Hotel Joseph
Wallowa Lake Resort Joseph, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing