We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation at Running Y Ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Running Y Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful setting, friendly staff. We stayed in a condo and had no problem with internet service.
The property is well maintained. The pool is indoor but has sliding doors to outside patio. There are many walking or biking paths, tennis courts, pickleball, and golf, of course.The sport center offers zumba and other classes, weight room and spa. We found plenty to keep us busy and took side trips to Crater Lake and Lake of the Woods which is beautiful and offers boat rentals.
The staff in the bar were great particularly the bartender, Juan. He was topnotch!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Karen, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your visit to Running Y Ranch. We are pleased to know that the staff treated you well and you enjoyed so many of the resorts amenities. We look forward to your next visit.

Beat regards, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Running Y Ranch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is an absolutely amazing hotel. Everything you could ask for from an 'away from it all holiday'. Fantastic staff, good food and great services like spa, pool and even a cheap launderette. The problem is there is NOTHING here! We were told that we could go into the 'village' for breakfast. This is a huge man made 'town' which is either unfinished or those who have tried it got up and left! There is a small grocery store but no-where to go even for a coffee (nearest place is a 30 minute drive away. What a shame. The air conditioning in the room was hard to operate and very noisy. Such an amazing hotel with great people. This was just a stopping off place for us but it would have been nice to get out somewhere. Klamath Falls is a big busy industrial town (I'm sure we missed the heart of it!). I hope it's there in 5 years time - I doubt it will be - great shame.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear AA Visitor, Thank you for your warm comments regarding your stay at Running Y Ranch. We were pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly. The village shopping area in the center of the resort is going through an ownership change. We all look forward to their future plans. We also look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful resort again in the future. Best regards, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhome at the Running Y and were extremely displeased with the fact that we had NO internet!!! We had to go all the way back to the main lodge to use the free wifi. It's ridiculous! People who travel absolutely need internet, especially if there on business. I can't believe this place calls themselves a "resort" when they don't even have wifi in their homes and advertise that they do in fact have wifi. I was not pleased with this part of my stay at all.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you like using the internet while on vacation!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarytraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Sugarytraveler,
Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay at Running Y Ranch. I sincerely apologize that your rental home did not have Wi-Fi Internet service. We have commitments from our home owners that new internet routers will be installed in the very near future. We realize how important it is to have Internet access when traveling. Again, please accept our apology for the inconvenience this caused you. We hope you will consider another visit in the near future to enjoy all the resorts amenities.
Best regards, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Running Y at the end of May. The property is beautiful and we had such high hopes. Our 1st disappointment was when the room keys did not work. My husband had to run down to the front desk to have it corrected while I stood in the hallway with our daughter and all our luggage. The front desk girl didn't even apologize! Our 2nd disappointment was when we realized there was not a map to the property in the room and had to, once again, go to the front desk to ask for one. The map should be offered at check in. That girl was either having a bad day or just didn't care. Not a good start to our stay.
The next disappointment was at dinner when we were told the kids meal was free. We didn't realize until the next day that we were charged for the kids meal. We didn't catch it because we didn't get an itemized receipt at dinner and when adding the dinner up we figured the extra was tax. Well, Oregon doesn't charge tax!
These really were just minor annoyances. The kicker, and the reason I decided to review the hotel, was when we returned from a long day sightseeing, at 4:30pm, and our room had not been cleaned! Really!
The only bright spot was the fitness center/pool. The ladies there were all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Holly, Thank you for sharing your experiences at Running Y Ranch. I was pleased to hear that the Spa & Fitness Center was a highlight of your trip. However, I am greatly disappointed and sincerely sorry that our welcome at the front desk was not as professional as we normally provide, and that your room was not serviced by housekeeping prior to your return from a long day. We are truly sorry we let you down. Please know that we have taken your feedback very seriously, and I have reviewed all of your comments with our entire team. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future? We look forward to seeing you again, and promise that your stay will be much more pleasant.

Best Regards, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We decided to have my daughter's wedding at the Running Y over Memorial Day weekend, and have been working on it since July of last year. Cathy Henderson was our primary wedding coordinator at the Y, and I have nothing less than excellent reviews for her!! She took excellent care of us, and worked with us on every single detail. We also had another coordinator named Michael Miles. These two did everything they could to ensure that our event was beautiful, and stress free. Michael stayed with us during the entire wedding, all the way to the end of the reception The food was DELICIOUS, I even went back for seconds (we did buffet style)!! Champagne was delivered to our room, and our daughter and new son-in-laws' room (they got chocolate covered strawberries too!!) We really thank these two from the bottom of our hearts, and if you are looking to have a wedding, I would recommend this place to anybody!!!

My husband and his side of the family are frequent golfers, and they loved the course!

We had the rehearsal dinner in one of the town homes. Oh my goodness, those homes are gorgeous!!!! Would love to come back and stay in one!!

Here is my review of the resort:

The resort is about 7 miles out of Klamath Falls, so it is secluded, but yet, doesn't take long to get to town to get anything that you need.

The service in the bar is VERY slow. One night, we waited for at least 20 minutes to have our drink orders taken, and then after that, it took at least 20-30 minutes to receive them. I even mentioned it to the waitress that I thought the service was very slow. She didn't really acknowledge my concern at all, Other nights, bar service was consistently slow also, Otherwise, the food that we ate there was VERY delicious. The steaks were cooked perfectly! There is a GORGEOUS view of the golf course from the restaurant and you can sit outside on the giant patio.

We had a suite with a balcony that overlooked the golf course, and we LOVED the view. We even had a deer lingering around below our balcony! And in the night time when it gets dark, you can hear thousands of frogs croaking, AMAZING!! I loved that!!

The room itself was very dimly lit. There was no bath tub and the shower was kind of weird, it only had half a door, I was wondering if maybe we were in a handicap accessible room, but my son said they had a shower like ours. (Otherwise the bathrooms were very nice and very clean).

There was chipped paint throughout the suite, and the kitchen table and chairs were chipped and very worn. I guess you could say the furniture had somewhat of an "IKEA" feel to it. The coffee makers only made individual servings. PLEASE put regular size coffee makers in the suites!! The bed however was amazing, SUPER comfy.

The pool and hot tub are indoors, and no alcohol is allowed. It would be nice if they allowed for later "adult" time in the evening. I know we didn't use it as much as we do at other resorts.

The housekeepers and all the rest of the staff were super friendly! No complaints there! All in all, we really do love this place and will most DEFINITELY be back!! Thank you Running Y, our daughter's wedding turned out amazing!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course and a balcony! The staff seemed very accommodating to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Reply- Hello Oceanmama,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your daughter’s wedding at Running Y Ranch. We are honored that you selected our Resort for such a special event. We certainly understand how important the wedding was to you and your family and we are very pleased that we could add to the success of the event. We are very pleased that your group enjoyed the lodge, golf and all accommodations. We also appreciate your praise of our team members. Your comments will be shared with all. Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the bar service and we apologize for the slow service you experienced. This certainly is not the type of service we strive to provide and we have utilized your comments in our training efforts. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit when you can continue to enjoy the resort amenities and beautiful property.
Best regards, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Running Y . The rooms are quiet, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated . The setting is tranquil with views of the lake, golf course and mountains. The staff are friendly and helpful. We did not dine at the lodge thus have no information about the restaurant .
We met the manager Pat, who seems committed to maintaining a quality lodge with lovely grounds .
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toby0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello Toby, Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Running Y Ranch. We are pleased that our staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next stay when you can continue to enjoy our beautiful natural surroundings and experience our warm hospitality.
Best Regards, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Running Y is fantastic. We have stayed here several times. Its quiet & peaceful...feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but very close to everything. Easy access from freeway. Great stopping point when traveling through Oregon. Everyone who works there is super helpful but not gushy. We didn't play golf but ate in the restaurant. Good food. Great wine. Beautiful views. Plenty of walking trails.hope we get to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caliloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
8.0 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#2 of 22 in Klamath Falls
883 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
5.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Klamath Falls
6.4 mi away
Cerulean Hotel
Cerulean Hotel
#16 of 22 in Klamath Falls
59 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 22 in Klamath Falls
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Running Y Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Running Y Ranch Resort

Address: 5500 Running y Rd, Klamath Falls, OR 97601-9153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Klamath Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Klamath Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Klamath Falls
Price Range: £124 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Running Y Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Running Y Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Running y Ranch Hotel Klamath Falls
Running y Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing