We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in every way a delightful place to stay”
Review of Golden West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden West Motel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“in every way a delightful place to stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I went to Klamath Falls for the Western States Regional Sheep Dog Trials In Sept 2013. I'd never been to KF before so had no idea where to stay other than insight from reviews. I am SOOOO glad I was able to stay at the Golden West. The proprietors were over the top wonderful: very welcoming, friendly, eager to accommodate, professional, interesting, well-traveled - just delightful people. They know how to run their business, and they seem to really enjoy it, and it shows. The Golden West Motel is toward the southern end of town, which is the one thing I had reservations about before I arrived. But in every way, I'm so glad I chose the Golden West even though it's about a 7 minute or so drive to the heart of downtown Klamath Falls. The whole place has a charm about it and my room was also charming and cozy. Just delightful.

Room Tip: Stick to the main group of rooms which face both the gravel driveway and a huge expanse of well-car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CielPortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    55
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
126
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were greeted at the office by the owners, Vincent and Luisa, and their dog, Francesca. They were warm, helpful, and treated us like family. The room was sparkling clean. They absolutely live up to what they say on the website: "We treat the rooms as an extension of our home and try to provide a "home away from home" for our customers. We are a simple facility and focus on clean. We maintain (clean) the rooms ourselves to make sure that our rooms are always immaculately clean." They also recommended a great local pizza place! If you are stopping in Klamath Falls, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had the room closest to the house, and they gave us their HOME internet password! We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a late review because of lost receipt. I arrived on my motorcycle 08/21/13 at 9:15 P.M. very tired because of a storm. I had difficulty parking my motorcycle and the owner spotted me and gave me a parking spot in his garage (can you believe that in this day and age!). Quite clean motel and a bargain. What nice folks own this place! Will return on my next road trip.
THANK YOU

IF YOU HAVE A MOTORCYCLE GO UP THE SMALL RISE AND PARK NEXT TO THE LARGE TREE ON THE LEFT OF THE DRIVEWAY.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Rated highly by the Trip Advisor followers, we gave it a try last night. High point was meeting Louisa, who runs the place. She is vivacious and engaging. Comes from Italy and its easy to see as she will discuss any topics with hands a buzz. The place is pretty spartan. However, it includes comfortable beds and a clean room. It is not spacious, or modern like a BW, or any of its competitors. But it is definitely a travelers oasis and the price is unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is an older motel, but it's been lovingly cared for. The proprietors have gone to a great deal of time and effort to make this the best place to stay in Klamath Falls.

It was spotlessly clean. The bed was perfect, comfortable and had 'only' four pillows. Why so many motels put in six or eight pillows is beyond me...all I need is one! I've seldom stayed in a 'town' motel that was this quiet. Despite the fact that it is on a main road, I heard no road noise at all. The sound proofing was exceptional, in that I couldn't hear my neighbor's activities. The hosts were solicitous and accomodating.
I wish there had a been a real thermostat in order to adjust the heat in the room. The heating unit was effective and put out plenty of warmth, but I found the lack of numbers on it a little confusing.

I highly recommend the Golden West and will probably stay there again someday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel, Jerusalem
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

this small moms and pops motel is truly a hidden gem! I am not sure what happened to the one contributor who had an issue there but out staying was great. we knew we're going to arrive late at night, coming from lassen. we called from the way, and the owner was so nice and waited for us. the room was just what we needed after a long day- a clean and comfortable bed and clean shower. it's right on 6 st., which is kind of the main road so coffee and pastry for the morning weren't a problem and also living town to crate lake in the morning was easy. we had the order done through Expedia and had a mix up a week later that we were charged again for the same stay but the owner called us because he remembered our names and told us to check with Expedia what's going on and of course canceled the extra order with no charge.make sure to have some anti mosquito cream or whatever because the Klamath falls area is full of them, but the room of course has a mosquito net on the window. I recommend highly on staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Owner was very nice when we first met..rooms we clean very old but clean so that was good.. we told the owner that we had to be in medford by 1:00 and that we would be at the office earley the next mornin to get our deposit..went to get our deposit the next day and the owner was gone he had left tried callin and callin and callin left message s on both motel and cell phone COULD NOT get a hold of him..finnaly had to call the sheriff and make a long story as soon as the cop got a hold of him ...he was there in 10 mins lol ..blew my mind never experienced this by the time we got our deposit it was 12:00..

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank cakeaminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
874 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#8 of 22 in Klamath Falls
739 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Klamath Falls
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Klamath Falls
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden West Motel

Property: Golden West Motel
Address: 6402 S 6th St, Klamath Falls, OR 97603-7111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing