We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a golden era”
Review of Golden West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden West Motel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem of a golden era”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A fun, classis motel with two super friendly owners. Nothing stylish, all the comforts needed, location not bad, gave us great suggestions for restaurants. Highly recommended already to our Bend friends. You can't beat the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    55
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
120
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spalding
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

.... in Klamath Falls, Oregon.

Greeted warmly by Vince (the co-owner with his wife Luisa) .... gave us lots of info about the surrounding area as well as a list of places to eat in the evening and for breakfast.
Room was spotlessly clean - recently refurbished and the bathroom provided a large shower with "grab handles" - a boon for older people - a thoughtful addition.
Plenty of private parking space just steps away and a thoughtful reminder not to park right outside so no vehicles pumping fumes into the room.
As other people have commented, this is an older style motel but the owners have added lovely touches like fresh flowers in the room and pretty bed covers.
This was our first ever stay in a privately owned place and I would recommend the Golden West Motel to anyone wanting to get away from the anonymity of chains as well as to those looking for super-clean and good accommodations.
Thanks Vince and Luisa you made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerBear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

So much more than a standard motel - the location is a it out of the town centre of Klamath Falls, but the manager is so helpful in pointing you in the right direction for whatever you want ... We mentioned breweries and the details of 2 were provided, and The Creamery was worth the short drive.
The room itself was clean, comfortable and quiet, being at the back of the lot at the top of the drive. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot with good pressure - a hair dryer was also provided from the office.
For the price we paid, this was great value and in a perfect place for a 1 night stop on our travels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I had to travel to Klamath Falls for a family member's funeral and just wanted clean, affordable accommodations. This little motel provided all that and more. Our room was comfortable, cute, and neat as a pin. There were plastic chairs in front of every room so we could sit out and just relax for a bit -- not hard to do with the bold and friendly kitten entertaining us with her antics and the owner's happy dog playing fetch on the large lawn. As everyone else is mentioning, the managers/owners are very friendly and helpful -- I hadn't realized I'd forgot my hairdryer until Luisa asked if I needed one. The room had a minifridge where we kept our bottled water and some fruit. The bed was comfortable. We paid a lot less than our other relatives in the chain hotel down the street, and we liked our room just as much. No pool on the premises if that's important to someone, but there's a big grassy area for kids young and old to enjoy throwing the ball to the dog. :-) We'd happily stay again under similar circumstances.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms in the building right along the road might be noisy? We stayed in the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseCityfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room was everything a traveler needs: clean, firm bed, working wifi, hot shower. The owner brought down a hairdryer for my 14-year-old co-traveler. Most notable of all, however, were the animals: two friendly dogs, and an orphaned cat. My daughter was entranced, and wants to return to Klamath Falls for no other reason.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDFaucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Golden west motel on our way to crater lake from San Jose. Vance and his wife were very friendly. They were very accommodative of a late check in. Have us good suggestions of places in eat in town and also tips for our trip up to Crater lake. I was initially skeptical of the name of the motel when we booked it online but trusted the tripadvisor ratings and you guys did not let us down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shriya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Louisa and Vince could not have been nicer. Our room was immaculate. I am so tired of fancy hotels that have no regard for cleanliness. We hated to leave! We ended up, by serendipity, having dinner with Vince & Luisa one night. Laughed till our bellys ached! Loved Francesca and the rascal, Jenny. You can't go wrong securing a room here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
867 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#6 of 22 in Klamath Falls
731 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Klamath Falls
141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
5.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden West Motel

Property: Golden West Motel
Address: 6402 S 6th St, Klamath Falls, OR 97603-7111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing