We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Good Owners, Clean Rooms”
Review of Golden West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden West Motel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
297 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Place, Good Owners, Clean Rooms”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As a woman who travels alone, it is always dodgy to find truly safe and affordable accommodations. The Golden West Motel is clean, affordable, safe, and in a great quiet area.

I have stayed at the Golden West three times and would not stay any place else in Klamath Falls.

The owners- Vincent and Luisa- are wonderful and they live in the house right on the property. Their sweet dog, Francesca, is so well trained and obedient. She will only come say hi if you invite her and she will not go in any of the motel rooms, so if you have allergies- rest assured. Your room is allergy safe.

Vincent and Luisa have put so much work into their motel: the bathrooms are amazing, the TV's are flat screens and Luisa will do everything possible to make your stay perfect. I also enjoy that you can sit on the green grass at a picnic table right outside your room.

There are great little cafe's nearby: Jalapeno's is great and the Back 40 cafe is a hidden gem of homemade food in KFalls.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    55
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
120
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

You want fancy? Keep on driving down the road. You want a clean place to spend the night, at a small motel owned by the nicest people you would ever meet, then stop in here.

Did I mention how affordable this place is? We are on a three week tour of CA, OR, and NV, and stopped in here for a couple of reasons. First, because the Trip Advisor reviews were so favorable. Second, because they not only accept dogs, but they welcome them!

Our Golden Retriever Jasper spent hours playing in the grass with their wonderful dog Francesca. She had a ball, and truly, didn't want to leave.

Our family owned a small motel for more than 40 years, so I know what I'm talking about. This is a true family operation, and first-rate all the way. True, the rooms are are the older side, and a bit dated. But they are immaculate. Cleaner than most 4-star hotels we have stayed in. And we really enjoyed the owners, Vince and Luis.

Again, there is nothing fancy about this place. But it is clean and friendly. Even business women travelling alone can feel more than comfortable here.

Don't forget to bring a treat for Francesca!

Room Tip: The rooms off the highway seem to be a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I haven't stayed at many motels - those single-story places where you park out front and your door is on the outside - at least lately. But given the price and the ratings I saw here for the Golden West I had to try it, and it was wonderful.
The motel and the rooms are simple, but they do it very well. My room was very clean, everything worked, and it was quite comfortable - fridge and microwave too.
Most of all, the owners are so friendly and helpful that they really make the place. Plenty of great advice on where to eat, where stuff in town is, random conversation. I loved having the dog and kitty romping in the office yard as I talked with the owner. They are the kind of people that make traveling fun, and are a joy to do business with (something I can't say about many very high $$$ places I've stayed at).
If you're the kind of person who doesn't need a fancy room but appreciates a nice, clean local place to stay for the night, then you'll love the Golden West.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petew_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this motel because of its high ratings. When we arrived we were initially apprehensive. It is an older property. Then we learned why it deserves the 5 ratings. The owner greeted us and treated us as family...or like old friends. Even the dog and cat greeted as family. Excellent hospitality! And the room was very updated and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our room was very small, and it was also clean and there were fresh flowers in a vase on the table. The air conditioner was old and noisy and let off a musty smell that went away after the first 15-20 minutes of use. Use of the shower required a step up into the stall, a potentially hazardous situation for the elderly, as there is no bar to hang onto. There was no bathtub. An old stain marred the center of the carpet in our pet-friendly room, however there was no pet dander or odors. The beds were comfortable and although we were close to a busy road, our room was quiet on a Friday night. The price simply can't be beat, and the owners are friendly and hospitable, living right next door to the motel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really like this motel. It was very clean and had a micro/fridge and a nice little dining table with fresh flowers. The owners were very friendly and gave us a coupon and recommendation for a great restaurant in town called Nibbleys.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
452 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This motel is super clean, very comfortable, and staffed with the friendliest and most helpful owners imaginable. And the price per night is incredibly reasonable. If we ever return to Klamath falls, we are coming back. Did we mention it is quiet, has free wifi and parking, and is perfectly situated as a jump off point to Crater Lake?

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
867 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#6 of 22 in Klamath Falls
731 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Klamath Falls
141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
5.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden West Motel

Property: Golden West Motel
Address: 6402 S 6th St, Klamath Falls, OR 97603-7111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing