We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resonable and Honest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quail Run Motor Inn

Quail Run Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quail Run Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Resonable and Honest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I found this on a site when I was looking for a place, but I did not book it I just showed up and got a very reasonable rate! I left and left an article (a quilt)! I did not notice this right away but two weeks later I called and they said yes we have it! I told them I will be back through and pick it up! so when I booked for my return trip I told them I noticed that they did not have parking for a U-Haul pulling a trailer, they told me to park in the lot next to the Motor Inn, I asked for a room where I could see the U-Haul and they did even though it was a double bed they gave it to me at the single bed rate! I have stayed in Travel lodge and road way inn several times in my pass though eastern Oregon, and the rooms I have were very comparable to the others where I paid more! yeas coffee and donuts for breakfast too! My next trip through I will stay there again!

Room Tip: well It is a small place, and the train goes right by several times , but over all I slept very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have to admit, I was suspicious when we first pulled into the parking lot (my girlfriend had made a reservation for one night over Memorial weekend, so it was the only place available)...but the nice man (owner?) at the front desk let us look at our room before committing and it was acceptable, so we stayed. It was clean enough, and the bed was surprisingly comfortable - pretty sure it was a new mattress. We had a blast discovering all the little random decorations that appeared throughout the room. For example, there was a single decorative tile placed on inside of the bathroom door, a simple picture of an eagle in flight...but it was placed about 2 feet off the ground, on the edge of the door by the hinges (huh???).

One warning - in case you didn't notice on the map, this motel is located RIGHT across the street from the railroad tracks, and added bonus: it is apparently a crossing, where every train that passes must blast its horn, day or night. Light sleepers *will* be woken up. My gf & I had earplugs, and neither of us were woken, but I did hear a train horn when I got up to go to the bathroom around 3am.

If you can handle the train, this is a decent place to stay - nothing fancy, but nice people, clean rooms, and good prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The place is very dated. The chair I'm sitting on as I type this is broken. The bathroom has no towel racks, the shower has no real place to put soap or shampoo. I thought is a bit high priced for the value, but so far on this trip it had the very best beds. The room is clean, but hard to tell because the furnishings, walls, etc. are so old. Would I stay here again? I think I may check out the other places first. On check in the manager made me present the exact credit card I had booked the room on and I had to come in and show him my ID, I've never had this happen as I usually book the room and my husband checks us in. I felt that was a bit rude.

Room Tip: They all look the same to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I think the sheets and towels were clean. The manager was really a nice fellow and allowed us to have another room because the air conditioner failed to operate properly. There was a great risk taking a shower when other units were also using anything that involved water. One could get scalded several times within 7 to 10 minutes by the fluctuations in the water temperature. I was pinned against the back wall for several minutes waiting for the cold water to dilute the hot water. Now you might think it would be easy enough to simply turn the valve to a cooler setting, but you would be wrong. The valves are separate-hot and cold-and one must turn for ever to get a change. The going ratio is the hot water all the way on and the cold about 1/4 turn. The soap chips, not bars, reminded me of an over sized wheat thin.

The adage that you get what you pay for was very true in this case. The cost was under $50.00
The room was used as a place to sleep the night before a backpacking trip in the Wallowa Mountains. If you stay here bring your own soap and shower very early. Also use ear plugs as the trains pass by a block away during the night and blow their horns at a nearby RXR crossing. Remember the manager was great and had a good sense of humor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trailtrodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Grande hotels

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Very hospitable owners are in the process of updating this charming older motel, hope they keep the charm! ... brand new mattresses, great value, and 10% off at local restaurant with mention of Quail Run.

Room Tip: The railroad track is right across the road so it may be quieter in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Weber, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Cheap older motel that had no renovations or improvements done since it was built. It looked like they were renovating one of the rooms, I hope they do that to all of them.

Room was "clean" but had tired corners that could have used a scrub, old doesn't have to mean poorly maintained. The room was basic, beds were okay with lousy pillows. The bbq area was very unimpressive but it did give us a place to sit outside under a beautiful tree. Office is not always staffed. No ice machine but they provide quart bags of ice cubes. We were at the back of the motel so it wasn't a problem but there are active train tracks across the street. I would find another place for my next stay in La Grande.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SurprisingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Was looking for a hotel because my friend from Africa had to go take the toefl in Lagrande. We booked a room with one bed, good price($45) and when we arrived there, the manager( i guess) proposed to give us a room with 2 bedroom for an additional $10. The room was big, very comfortable...looked like a 2 bedroom apt for I had my room and he had his...fridge, microwave,tv, internet..very comfortable, clean, many towels, nice parking just in front of our room... Above all, the guy was really nice to us, very welcoming although he looked a bit scared at first (2 black guys arriving in a small town at midnight, I guess). I don't pray that that much but this was a first time I left a hotel and prayed that God will bless his business..

Room Tip: 2 beds( 2 rooms) room 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#4 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
0.8 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Run Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Run Motor Inn

Property: Quail Run Motor Inn
Address: 2400 Adams Avenue, La Grande, OR 97850-3466
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quail Run Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable. We have wifi, cable, hbo, espn, refrigerators, microwave, telephone. All rooms have AC, heat pump. We have smoking and non smoking rooms. Pets with a fee. Some of them are Kitchenettes and we have a BBQ place in the picnic place in the back of the motel.Close to the EOU. Close by restaurant 10% off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quail Run Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing