We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading back home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Old,dingy,air conditioner not very good. Wouldn't stay here again. Deodorant used to cover up cigarette smell very strong. Beds not comfortable. Actually nothing good to say about this place. Okay one nice thing. Person behind counter was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

If you are expecting a motel or hotel type room, you will be disappointed. If you are expected a comfortable bed and clean room, you will be happy. Yes, this property is old as the hills. Yes, there is a pink bathtub and old style bathroom type that shows age. Yes, the rooms are postage stamp. However, as I said, the bed was comfortable and the staff willing to help. (I needed an iron and ironing board). My only complaint as a business traveler is that it was not easy to work in the room. Plugs were very limited, though I supposed I could have asked for an extension cord. You will see the picture and the room size. To the right in the picture is a TV, microwave, and refrigerator, all sitting on a desk. The round table was what I worked from. The Air Conditioner was old and rattly and the my car was parked next to a convenience store and Burger King drive through.

All that being said, I paid $35 a night for this room, and I stayed here two nights. The bed was comfortable, the shower had great water pressure, the room was spotless, and the hot water was plentiful. It was a bit noisy at first from cars in the drive through, but later it was quiet and I slept well. There are no clocks in the room, but they will arrange a wake up call for you.

AM continental breakfast was basically breads and cereals.

If I came back, I might ONLY seek another place if I really needed to get some work done. If I did not need to get work done and I wanted to save some money, I would absolutely not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the convenience store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is an older dated property but fridge and air conditioner worked great! We were on the side with pool. It was reasonably quiet and bed was comfortable. An added bonus; the shower had plenty of hot water and the super-exhaust fan left the mirror fog-free! The free breakfast isn't anything to write about but it will tied you over until the rest of your travelers get ready with coffee juice and packaged donuts/sweets. There is a Burger King next door so there isn't any danger of starvation. The pool was closed due to lightening storm watch but it looked clean and usable. If you're not looking for luxury, don't mind a little dated furnishings but need a comfortable room with working appliances and air conditioning, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a older mom & pop property. Well maintained and ultra clean and very quiet. Staff were friendly and accommodating. It was truly a great find. The town of La Gramde is a jewel and a step back in time complete with a still operating old time movie theater. Two short blocks from the property is a Mom & Daughter Ice Cream parlor with 40+ flavors. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: A small but very well maintained swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank31238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Polite helpful staff
Small but very clean outdoor pool
Affordable
The clerk only had a smoking room available to us, but said it hadn't been used in a while and wanted us to see it before taking it. I hate smoking! I am impressed, this room is extremely clean. And I'm picky about smell.
I'm definitely staying here when passing through la grande
It was even a pleasant walk to multiple restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninalitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Furnishings were "dated" but comfortable. Managers were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this motel. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I had a fabulous time at the Rodeway Inn. The owners treated me like family, and the rooms were fabulous. There was wireless Intenet and a well cleaned pool.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
1.4 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in La Grande
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn La Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn La Grande

Address: 402 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-1620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn La Grande 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near Interstate 84, The Rodeway Inn® hotel offers easy access to many nearby points of interest. This La Grande, OR hotel is minutes from the Eastern Oregon Fire Museum, Eastern Oregon University and the Union County Fairgrounds, home of the annual Union County Fair.We are within walking distance from La Grande, Oregon's historic downtown district, featuring a variety of retail shops, boutiques, restaurants and a weekend farmers market, offering locally grown fresh produce as well as other regional food, art and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn La Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing