We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the activities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Grande
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 La Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was a real mixed bag. The tours of the museum, the bronze works, and the visit with the artist, were great. The accomodations were not so great. We were led to believe that these were luxury accomodations. Our room was stuffy because the windows were painted shut, even though we were told that we could open them when we were shown the room. The shower was too scary to use and the sofa smelled really bad. Our room was dark and drab, not designed with comfort in mind. There was no place to put your items in the bathroom. It would have been nice to have a shelf or table so that you didn't have to try to balance things on the rim of the ancient sink.

The whole place was rather spooky and sad. Tacky electric fireplace greeted you when you came in the front door of the B&B. It would have been better to have nothing that that sad looking replica. The breakfast was good and served on the enclosed sunporch which was very bright and cheery. There were peacock and goose droppings everywhere. The baths were not very clean, and certainly, weren't hot enough. The tub we were in felt slimy when we got in. There was no place to get water or ice and there were two paper cups in our room. It would have been nice to have some water available for drinking, as the tap water didn't taste too good.

There was a tour of the place and one room was the operating room or surgery. It didn't bother me, but weirded out my companions. The price was way too much for the accomodations but I do recommend the tours.

People were very nice and the visit with David (the bronze sculptor) was a real treat. This place has a lot of potential and I hope it can improved.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

I recently stayed at this property and had a fun time. The history of this place is amazing and it sits on the old Oregon Trail. The hotel/bnb occupies the 2nd floor and the 3rd floor houses 2 museums while the first is reception, restaurant and gift shop. The yard has amazing life size sculptures on the way to the hot tubs. 5 tubs are indoors, if the weather is inclement and 3 more are outside by the lake. The grounds need some work but the setting is very nice with the lake, mountains and grassy plains nearby. The rooms are eclectic with donated furniture in theme rooms. Most are well done but all very unique. It is a work in progress, but is worth a stay. The $250 overnight package is a bit pricey but the unbundled rooms are worthwhile. The restaurant food was just so-so but the service was friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website to see what type of room fits your style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taoofken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We enjoyed our room (comfortable) and appreciated that we could use one of the empty sitting rooms for our meetings during our 2 day stay. But the whole experience left us feeling kind of weirded out and disappointed-- the staff was overly friendly but not really ready to live up to their promises of hospitality, the expensive dinners and breakfasts which came in our package deal were cheap and poor tasting, and even the soaking tubs were sporadically prepared and maintained. The tone of the place was just... off. We'd maybe come back for an overnight to soak in the tubs, but staying too long in this place doesn't seem like a good idea.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank electrickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hot Lake Springs is more than a bed and breakfast. These historic grounds and hotel have been painstakingly and carefully restored by the Manuel family. Hot Lake Springs is a spa, artist's studio, hot springs, museum and vintage hotel. This will surely become one of Eastern Oregon's destination vacation spots. Needless to say we loved our stay there and we will return very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank surflover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
8.6 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 5 in La Grande
7 reviews
8.2 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
363 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
7.9 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
231 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#7 of 8 in La Grande
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast

Address: 66172 Highway 203, PO Box 1043, La Grande, OR 97850-5230
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Grande
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing