We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real pleasant surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Grande
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 La Grande B&B and Inns
Salem
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were looking for a place to get away from the usual motels/B&B's. On a whim, we chose Hot Lake Springs. We were not disappointed in any way!
What an experience! To see what David and Lee Manuel have done with the property is amazing. You must watch the video showing the transformation.
It is a very quirky place, so if you are looking for something like you find everywhere else in the world, this is not the place for you. All of the rooms that have been remodeled for use are different. Ours had a queen bed with a retrofitted shower in the corner of the room, with the toilet and sink in a separate "closet" two steps up! It was unique and we loved it!
Peaceful. Quiet. Squeaky stairs. Funky and a work in progress. No TV! No phones in the rooms. They do have free Wi-Fi for those of us who thought we needed to stay connected to the rest of the world.
The geese and guinea birds are the guard animals for the property. They can make lots of noise if they want to, and do leave their deposits around, so you should watch where you step.
The in-house spa was great. You must take a soak or two in the bath house.
The museum and foundry are another amazing aspect of the property.
The breakfast is simple. They plan to open the restaurant in 2014 for lunch and dinner. You need to go into La Grande for lunch or dinner, which is only about 5 miles away.
Loved our 2 days there and we will go back.

Room Tip: Check out their website for details, as all rooms are truly different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrstixSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    7
    2
    13
See reviews for
14
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell Idaho
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have read the reviews concerning Hot Lake,...if only the people which had negative comments could have seen this establishment from the beginning of conception. We started visiting Hot Lake in 2007, maybe 2 years after Lee and David purchased the property. They moved from Joseph, from a beautiful 7 million dollar business which was nearly given away, (before people run to Joseph to hear the story) you must know there are two sides to it. Enough said. We purchased bronze in 2007, and yes the delivery of the pieces were long and drawn out, but we managed and after 18 months received them, beautiful work! Having been there several years we have seen the building and business grow and grow and improve each time we go back, amazed at what Lee and David are creating. In one of the reviews, someone complained about the $15 charge for the tour, having taken the tour this week it is a work in progress and well worth the price, please give Hot Lakes a chance to prove what they are trying to accomplish. Yes the grounds are not what a person would expect from a B & B, but it is what it is and you must have an open mind. The rooms were decorated by people which had purchased them to donate to the historical being of the building. There might be used furniture and maybe not exclusive enough for some people's taste, sorry about that, but I for one find them inviting and a great experience. I am not related to this family and business, but I have found it so interesting to come back every few years to see this WORK in PROGRESS. The sinks in the rooms are retained and rather interesting to use, causing you, when you use them, to realize what people did back in 1910 to use bathroom facilities such as that. If you are planning on staying there, don't come with a closed mind, come to see history being remade. Lee is a very busy busy person and I just don't think she has time for negative people when she has so much on her plate day after day to deal with, give her a break PEOPLE! She loves Hot Lake and her struggles have been up and down, but she loves people and you will be able to tell that right off.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are quaint and decorated very pleasantly..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ibbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Only after my wife seen a review regarding the property we secured a room on 9/17. We arrived on 09/18 and met the staff and owner. After spending 2 hours and discussing our evening stay there with my wife we chose to leave. I called within 30 minutes of our departure and informed the receptionist of our decision to find another place to spend the evening. I'm with holding any further comments until I see how management handles my visa credit/refund.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place is full of charm and wonderment. My family and I stayed in the Frazier room for the weekend, it is beautifully decorated and comfortable. The grounds are serene and peaceful. Being on the grounds gives you time to relax and unwind. If your time permits take a soak in the mineral baths the healing properties of the water are wonderful !

Room Tip: Drive 7 miles east to see the historic town of Union, Or built in the mid 1800's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsyrose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you love history, a vintage atmosphere, mineral soaks, a story of a magnificent restoration, and a personal encounter with a world renown sculptor, David Manuel, then the Hot Lake Hotel near La Grande, OR, is a great get-a-way destination. The breakfast and lunch menus are fabulous. The art work and guided tours of the adjoining bronze foundry is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great place — beautifully restored and very historic. The spa is very relaxing and the art and artifacts on display are fascinating. It's a wonderful addition to the La Grande area. My mother and daughter especially enjoyed their visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsThorvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were planning on tent camping in the RV park next to the hotel, but couldn't resist the allure of the resurrected history! My great grandmother had her first baby in the former hospital, and being raised in La Grande I grew up hearing the ghost stories. Well the experience didn't disappoint! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room comfortable, and the shared bathroom was clean. The whole building is a museum and it was fun to wander around at night and get a picture of what it was like in it's heyday. The old exercise machines that actually do the sit ups etc for you were entertaining to try! Breakfast the next morning was yummy, although it would have been nice if it were offered earlier than 8. We met Lee and she was very welcoming and interested in our family history with Hot Lake. The hot tubs were varying temperatures and it was nice to have cool tubs during the hot day, and warmer tubs in the cool evening. We enjoyed the peacocks and ducks parading around the grounds- our kids were ecstatic. Overall it was a great experience- my biggest complaint was the coffee needed to be available by 6am, and breakfast should be available sooner so that guests can get out and enjoy their day. Oh, and water coolers and cups should be available near all the tub areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites
9.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#4 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
8.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
8.2 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hot Lake Springs Bed and Breakfast
Address: 66172 Highway 203, PO Box 1043, La Grande, OR 97850-5230
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Grande
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing