We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Sandman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
omaha
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel looked new (or newly remodeled) and the lobby and breakfast area was clean. Our room was very clean. Did not hear any noise from the hall or surrounding rooms. Breakfast was your typical continental fare but was good. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, all of our staff enjoy reading all of them to better assist with meeting all of our guests needs! Thank you for staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    20
    19
    18
See reviews for
25
27
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Unfortunately, what is a very nice property becomes tainted when you look at your bank statement/credit card billling. This hotel has a nasty practice of pre-authorizing a significant portion of your stay immediately on the day of arrival BEFORE YOU EVEN CHECK IN! They also over bill your stay at check out 20% and when we called to complain stated that it could take 10-15 days for the funds to become available again from the account. Absolute nonsense. I travel globally for business and NEVER have I experienced a hotel that has such irresponsible billing practices.

Like I began with, it is unfortunate. The property is clean, well maintained and has friendly staff. The value (if as advertised and without deceptive billing practices) is also good. We would have recommended and stayed here again but after finding out about the billing will never stay here again and advise others to do the same.

We are now pursuing action with our bank and hopefully they will either force the property to bill legitimately or restrict their ability to accept cards in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kenm323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Grande hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This room was listed as a nonsmoking room but reeked of smoke. Had a poor continental breakfast with toast and bad muffins. Staff was not helpful they had to search for ten minutes to find our reservation. Would not come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I typically do not write online reviews, but am writing this one in hopes someone may avoid future issues.

The main reason we stayed here was that they were only hotel in town that allowed pets that had availability the night we were in town. What a mistake it ended up being.

I had to make my reservation over the phone to check on the pet policy and made a reservation for one night. Upon arrival, the young man working the front barely said two words, only asking me to fill out our car information (I later found out this same slip had our reservation mistaken for two nights on it). In the morning I went to check out and nobody was at the front desk. I rang the bell and waited for a couple minutes. With nobody in sight, I left our keys on the front desk and left. Had somebody come to the desk, perhaps our issue of a mistaken extra night could have been solved at that point. A few days later I noticed my card had been charged for more than double what I expected. I gave it a few days to see if it adjusted for some type of hold, and finally a week later I called to check on the issue. The general manager (who was fairly attentive aside from originally sending the copy of my check in info to the wrong email address given to her over the phone and despite the fact that her help accomplished nothing) said that the original reservation was made for two nights and that housekeeping had a record of cleaning it both days. I requested that she send my check in document on which I wrote our car information which she explained to me included the wrong reservation information. Upon receiving and reviewing this, I asked the general manager if there was a way to request the second night charges be reversed considering the entire situation. She "checked with the accounting department" and said the charges could not be reversed.

As for the hotel itself, it was older but in decent shape. However, due to the wrong reservation, and the poor staff while there, we will definitely not be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarrett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estacada, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I knew I didn't need a fancy place to stay since this was for one night and I would have to leave the next morning. I was very amazed at my room. I had a king room on the first floor. The room had a sofa, desk, tv, refrigerator, coffee pot and small microwave. The room was clean and impressive. The only downfall was the smell, It smelled like someone had poured too much carpet freshener into the carpet. It even made my eyes burn, this could have also been mixed in with the fact that I had driven 4.5 hours and was tired as well. There are 3 fast food restaurants that you can walk to, but plenty of other restaurants within driving distance. The location is quiet and less than 5 minutes from downtown La Grande. They have an indoor pool. I did not have their breakfast because I wanted a breakfast with protein included. I do agree with another reviewer as it is difficult to enjoy a small continental breakfast when the hotel across the street boasts waffles and cinnamon rolls. The young man that checked me in was pleasant. Overall for a quick business trip this was a nice place to stay and worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The standard King room was spacious, clean, and quiet. It included a small sofa, work desk, coffee pot, and refrigerator. Lots of electrical outlets. The man at the front desk was very helpful, friendly, and efficient when we checked in. He even called the room a little while later just to ask if anything was needed and to wish a good night. A nice touch. If the TV were a newer flat screen with HDMI instead of the old tube model, I'd give the room full marks.

The only other negative for me was that the included breakfast was continental, meaning not much beyond cold cereal and coffee or juice. The motel sign across the street taunted us waffles and cinnamon rolls! The staff said they have a kitchen being remodeled soon that will enable them to offer a much better breakfast in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed one night going to Vegas area and one night back with Tour bus.

Michael at desk refused our ONE bus,the driver had to go back and get him to DOUBLE check.. 1/2 hour wasted with us all being tired travelers. Then he has hard time finding a Room for Us (not on his list) grrrrrr . and because we got nervous he got RUDE.
Then after we get in our room, another guest with his dog is given our room also... What a Joke.. Not impressed with him as a Desk staff person,sorry to say.

Requests were all mixed up with almost everyone on the bus on the return day. Non smokers getting smoking rooms, visa versa..etc. etc.

We have been to this hotel before,when things worked much better with a bus load of people.

Rooms were clean, with coffee maker in room. and supplies good.

Even though the lobby sitting area is getting a redo.. they still supplied Cont.breakfast for us which was a nice surprise..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLeen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#4 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#5 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sandman Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
Address: 2410 E R Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-3948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sandman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Americas Best Value Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sandman Hotel La Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing