We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good!”
Review of Royal Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Not good!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I guess you get what you pay for. It was very noisy all night - as you could easily hear your neighbors and anybody talking outside, as well as when anyone went up and downstairs. In the morning I noticed the carpet was infested with tiny ants. There was also something gross on the bath towel I went to use and had to go get another one. If we had had a booking for more than one night I would have cancelled after the first night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
23
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
386 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

Although older and not fancy, the room has everything one could ask for - a comfortable king sized bed as we requested, a microwave, mini-refigerator, a decent TV, and free wi-fi. The room is clean and comfortable. The manager was personable, helpful and responsive. It is a bargain and we would stay here again if we return to La Grande.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My fiance and I stayed here on a cross-country trip from WI to WA and were very, very pleased. Individual at the front desk (I assume he was the owner) was very friendly and helpful at check-in; even had a nice conversation with us about where we were from and where we were headed. We were offered a sleep number bed, which was pretty awesome. The room is basic and a bit dated (think early-to-mid 1990s), but everything was immaculate and well-kept. Fridge was a good-size mini fridge, not one of those tiny dorm fridges, which I thought was nice. The internet was kind of flaky, which I thought was the only downside. Overall, however, the value was tremendous. It was the most inexpensive hotel on our trip, but also the quietest and the cleanest. It was also within walking distance to a couple of great downtown restaurants and the movie theater in La Grande. As an added bonus, there was some fruit and packaged pastries set out for breakfast, which, when you are expecting nothing, is a great treat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is close to everything downtown, very comfortable and clean. My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights, and were appreciative of the refrigerator, microwave and the internet service. The staff was friendly, and were helpful when I had a question about the internet service. Neighbors upstairs were noisy one night, but quiet otherwise. Next time we visit La Grande, we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife and I found this place from their billboard near the freeway. We were able to view the room first which I appreciated. We found the furniture very dated as mentioned before, but the room was very clean. Excellent value at $50 after tax!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douds IA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Staff was friendly at check in. Room was very crowded for two beds. Bathroom is smallish but not terrible. Room was basically clean but furniture and decor are somewhat dated. Air conditioner did not work, did not discover this until we had gotten all our stuff settled in, so we just opened a window since it was 65 outside. There is a train track that sounds like it is about 2 blocks away and the trains go through town laying on the horn. Continental breakfast is muffins and coffee in the tiny lobby. When I say tiny I mean there is nowhere to sit. Not a big deal but if I had known it I would have looked for a different place with a better breakfast even if it meant spending a few extra dollars. For the money I spent I would not stay here again at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a116jxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kswanson8933, Manager at Royal Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
I am sorry your experience was not better. It is our policy to instruct all guest to call the front desk if they have any questions or problems and on how to power the air conditioner or base board heater. It is possible that we did not deliver these instructions and for that we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed one night, arrived late - after 9pm - the room was upstairs, AARP rate of $55 total. Offered us a pillow top, regular, or sleep number bed. While not fancy, it was clean and a good value, other hotels in the area wanted nearly double that price.

Visited the Oregon Trail Interpretive center the following day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lead63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#7 of 8 in La Grande
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#5 of 8 in La Grande
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
0.8 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
313 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Grande Inn
La Grande Inn
#8 of 8 in La Grande
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Motor Inn

Property: Royal Motor Inn
Address: 1510 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-2688
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Motor Hotel La Grande
Royal Hotel La Grande
Royal Motel La Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing