We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since when is a hotel not children friendly?”
Review of Royal Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I have never been asked to keep my kids under control while staying in a motel. My kids are more quiet than 90% of the guest at any place, so that offended me right away. I wonder how often they mop their floors as well, and their house cleaning staff is severly lacking in the skills that are required to run a clean hotel. My family was starting to wonder if people in the area were anti-children. It was also very confusing to get anywhere in town without prior knowledge or a GPS.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiddHudsonMcCaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

Mattresses were stained, no tv remote, air conditioner did not work, ugly and broken down decor, all we had to choose from at 3:45am

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank VegasLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This was an overnight stop on a x-country ski trip in NE Oregon, so was very adequate to our needs. Though furnishings were basic & room small, it was large enough for 2 of us and everything was absolutely clean & neat. Owners & assistant were friendly, helpful, & competant. Seemed to be a favorite stopover for quite a few travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Portlandgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The room was the cleanest I have ever stayed in for a bargan price and it was a pet welcome room to boot, this room was cleaner than some $300.00 a night 5 star hotels I have stayed in, very nice stay. Thanks to Karl & Ruby . Edward Cosgrove

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alkaseltzerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Because of multiple activities going on in La Grande on the weekend of August 8th, my son and I were advised not to camp at the pool for the swim meet so I started looking for a place stay. We are on a strict budget for our swimming summer so affordability was a major concern for me and some of the other motels in La Grande were just too much for our budget. Royal Motor Inn fit the budget and it was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. We are planning our budget for next year and plan to stay at the Royal when we are in La Grande swimming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tishinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I am not one to complain, and I feel bad having to do it. The staff were very pleasant, but that is the only good quality of this Motel. I had just drove for 15 hours and it was getting late, and the online reviews were very good, so I just stopped in and got a room. It was very hot in the room and even after the A/C ran for over an hour it was still barely tolerable. It was a sleep number bed, but it was terribly uncomfortable (the only thing I thought might turn out ok with this night). The Motel is in the old (sketchy) part of town so I was not too comfortable parking here. To top it right off, when I pulled the covers back there were hairs in the bed and on the pillows...YUK!! I slept on top of the covers and morning couldn't come quickly enough so I could get out of there. If you want to try this Motel, I would strongly suggest asking to see your room first. Sorry, I don't like to give a bad review but it has to be said.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildrosegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stopped in La Grande to see the Hell's Canyon National Recreational Area. The motel was in downtown almost at the end of the main road. Ruby, one of the owners, was very welcoming and friendly. Love the classic Texaco garage next door! I thought La Grande was going to be another small down that you drive by in America but it was pleasantly nice. The rooms were clean, a bit dated but it was comfortable. The only thing is the noise from the trains but they are so loud I think you can hear them wherever you are in La Grande!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USALover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#7 of 8 in La Grande
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
0.8 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in La Grande
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Motor Inn

Address: 1510 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-2688
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range: £41 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Motor Hotel La Grande
Royal Hotel La Grande
Royal Motel La Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing