We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in La Grande
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
Description: Joe & Sugars Cafe is in the heart of downtown La Grande (located next to Red Cross Drug Store). We serve a full service Breakfast from 7-11 and Lunch from 11-3.Offering a daily lunch special.
Restaurant details
Description: Joe & Sugars Cafe is in the heart of downtown La Grande (located next to Red Cross Drug Store). We serve a full service Breakfast from 7-11 and Lunch from 11-3.Offering a daily lunch special.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

While traveling I do prefer to go to independent restaurants over any chain so we made a point of having breakfast here during our stay in La Grande. What a disappointment.

Two stars all around from the atmosphere to the food to the service.

The first thing you notice is how disjointed the place is. Some tables are huge, some are tiny. The booths are awkward and not easy to get in and out of. And on our visit the next problem was how long it took the food to come out. I ordered simple bacon, eggs, and hash browns and it took over 20 minutes for it to arrive at our table.

And when it did the eggs were barely luke warm. Which I might have told them about if they ever checked on our table. Once the food was dropped we never saw a server again.

The coffee is self serve? Which is odd for a breakfast diner type place.

I would not recommend Joe & Sugars. This is one case where the corporate restaurant by the highway is the better call.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkim48, Owner at Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
I am sorry your visit at Joe & Sugars Cafe was disappointing.
Each customer who walks through the door is important to me, and I strive to make their experience a good one.
Service & the quality of food is something that it important to me.
Again, I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adequate, pretty small, clean, mostly locals joint.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stopped in for a late breakfast, appeared to have about a half-dozen tables, lengthy specialty coffee list, smaller food menu. Definitely a locals, "home place", which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Server was pleasant & efficient, self-serve coffee a bit different. Portions served were hot, plentifully sized and generally tasty. Noted there were veggie options available. Also a good selection of locally-made pastries. Spouse had a pumpkin something scone; said it was just ok.

Would return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Joe and Sugars is a regular visit place for our family when we go to La Grande to visit family. Home made cookies, cinnamon roles, scones, coffee and lattes, and more. Stop by, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The4ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good place to watch it rain”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were visiting LaGrande and needed to have some lunch. We decided it was worth the few minutes to wait for a table and headed here for lunch. We all had an excellent lunch, the service was friendly and good, and our latte's were very good. It was a great place for lunch and enjoying a warm spot on a rainy day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great find....”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

On our way through La Grand, OR we were looking for a place to have breakfast. We were told about one, but couldn't find it. What we did find was this little place on Adams Ave. with a great breakfast. The service was friendly and good. We would definitely go back for another meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso also viewed

 

Been to Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing