We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse place I have stayed and very poor Managment support”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Grande Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
portland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worse place I have stayed and very poor Managment support”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

If this is the only place in town open you are better off to sleep in your car!!!!!!!!!!
I stay in La Grande several times a year and I was very upset with the false advertising --they show pictures of a new and clean hotel on line and you get the old dirty rooms with poor management!!
We had dirty sheets, garbage under the bed from months before, the bath room was dirty, and when we ask for clean sheets they wanted to move us to a different room we said no due to we had small children. We were given sheets and dirty pillow cases and when I complained i was told they would comp the room months later I see they charged me for the room when I called and complain the manager said they never brought me those pillow cases and when I told her I wanted to get the story right so when I call her supervisor the MANAGER hung up on me what a great person to have in charge-- the best part is her manager said they still would not credit me and the manager is still working there. Sleep in your car its cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmlilg, General Manager at La Grande Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
My staff and I went out of our way to fix the issues that where brought to our attention. We offered to move you to a new room, you did not want to. We offered to change your sheets and was told you would do it. We discounted you room. The staff and I always try our best to correct our mistakes. The La Grande Inn does have high cleanliness standards. I invite anyone who reads this comment to stop by for a property tour and you will see for yourself that we are clean.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    20
    16
    23
See reviews for
27
21
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

The LaGrande Inn is located half-way around the bypass for the city, just off the highway exit in a mixed area of strip malls and fast food restaurants. We stopped in late evening at the mid-point of a cross-country drive; it was the only hotel in La Grande that was accepting walk-ins on a Friday evening. Still, the price was reasonable and breakfast was included, the property is a bit worn but comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is parking alongside the hotel and an outdoor pool that was closed during our visit. The hotel does not have elevators; guest rooms on the lower floor are handicap-accessible. WiFi is available in the lobby; there are family restaurants available in walking distance across the parking lot.

Rooms are basic but reasonably clean: the furniture has seen better days. Two queen beds, television and minibar/fridge, and cable TV with a selection of local channels. There is a tub / shower combination; hot water and pressure are adequate. A sparse complimentary breakfast buffet is served each morning with pastry, juice, cereal and coffee.

This is a convenient highway stopover, friendly and comfortable. It is a basic value with local character that I thought was a good alternative to the budget chain motels in town.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

Service was good, although they didnt understand some of what we were saying (and we speak english). The add said wireless internet available, but after we checked in we founf out its only in one part of the hotel. If you want internet you have to go their "business centre". The spa was nice.
The room was dark and I dont think the windows had ever been cleaned. It took us about 5 mins to get the shower to work, as the taps were calcified so very hard to get them to work. Bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_nz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akatravel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I've traveled to third world countries and stayed in rural accommodations and this is by far the worst hotel I've ever been to. The first room we were assigned to had stained bedding, dirty towels in the bathroom that had been left in the bathtub, old moldy food under the bed, sticky carpet, and smelled like mold and filth. After the first evening we woke up to find bedbugs crawling on my leg, and inspected the carpet molding to find larva and assorted insects living in it. The hotel staff was defensive and snippy when we approached them with our problem, but offered to change our room. The second room appeared to be bug-free, but had the same stained bedding, dirty towels, old moldy food under the bed, sticky carpet, terrible smell, and also had the added bonus of a broken air conditioner with no working fan. We also could not open a window because the only source of ventilation was a balcony door with no screen and there were dozens of mosquitos outside due to it overlooking a pool. This place should be condemned.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

I booked a room for $54.00 AARP rate, went to the room and practically ran 100 miles an hour to get the "heck" out of it. It was supposed to be a non-smoking room and it SMELLED TERRIBLY. The furniture was sparce and very worn. It was extremely dark. The lady at the Tourist Information building in town had told me it was one of the best places in town. I would suggest she go and "check it out."

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

This hotel was tied with the Super8 for the lowest rate we could find when we pulled into town off the Interstate. We gave it a try since it seemed a bit more full-featured, albiet older, for the same price. The clerk was very nice and asked exactly what we wanted for our room. In the end she gave us a poolside room, which made the kids happy. The pool, however, was way too cold, even on a 95 degree day. Then the hottub was way too hot.

The breakfast was pretty good. Slightly above average for a continental. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaredpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OR
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

After passing the same Q-tip on the hall floor for three days, I decieded it would be cleaner to camp in a tent. The Sliding glass door lock had been broke and there was a make shift lock and bar on the door. Wall paper was in bad shape (bubbling and stained). Holes in the mattress; how old could it be?. Dark Dingy rooms, cobb webbs and dust in front entry. TV Speakers were blown. Friends who were there on an extended staying had their food removed from the Fridge and Disposed.

  • Liked — Convenient Restraunt
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KitPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#4 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Inn

Property: La Grande Inn
Address: 2612 Island Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-9499 (Formerly Howard Johnsons)
Region: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Hotel La Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing