We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Lake Oswego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good choice for Lake Oswego”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Lake Oswego as my oldest daughter had a lacrosse tournament, and the team had a block of rooms reserved. All in all a good stay with a good location in close proximity to the freeway.

We checked in on a Friday evening having driven down from Seattle. The hotel was busy with people already checked in, parking lot almost full, but the check in process went smoothly. The original plan was only from my daughter and I to go to the tournament, but plans changed and my wife and youngest daughter came as well. This created a bit of an issue – I originally booked a king bed, but two queen beds would have been better. There were no double queen rooms available so we made do with the king. We ended up extending our stay an additional night and we were able to get a double queen room which was perfect for us.

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn Express (which is a good thing) – rooms are comfortable and updated. The lobby is a bit small and with so many people at the hotel, became a bit chaotic at times. Eating area as a decent size, and the free breakfast is quite good with both hot and cold items. Great way to start the day especially before a full day of games.

The swimming pool got a lot of use as the girls gathered there after their games. 30 girls in a swimming pool = ear drum shattering noise, but they had a great time. There is a little patio off the pool where some parents hung out, we went over to the Chevron station right by the hotel and bought some ice and beer and set up a little party for the adults. Made waiting for the kids that much more enjoyable.

We’ll be heading down to this tournament again next year, and we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    83
    41
    12
    18
See reviews for
77
47
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed there 2 nights, requested a quiet room. Quiet is a relative term with this property as your choices are facing Interstate 5 or facing railroad tracks. When I arrived in my room, there was used soap in the shower and nail clippings on the floor by my bed. I called the front desk, and he apologized. I ended up taking care of the nail clippings and soap. The sheets were pilling badly and honestly, I would have expected better quality in the mattress, pillows, and linens. The positives were that the room was nicely furnished, big flat screen TV with a good selection of cable channels, and the breakfast was delicious, with eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and waffles. Still, I probably would not stay here again as my sleep quality is very important to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear LostLand,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. We are delighted to read you like he layout and furnishings of the room. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. We are deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations particularly with housekeeping. We have noted you valuable comments and we will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a room with 2 queens plus a king in another room..perfect for 5 adults with 1 bathroom though! It worked. We could hear the trains running at night..don't see any tracks nearby so maybe from being located in a valley that the sound carries??? Idk.

The rooms are clean, nice bedding and comfortable enough bed, near time to change the one we were on as it was getting a little saggy and soft, pillows great-I like that Holiday Inn gives you a firm and a soft pillow on the bed to choose from. That's a 5 in my books.

Best part, we got in late Fri after a busy day and Steve was there with offers of fresh baked chocolate chip cookies ready in 5 mins. Such a great way to end a spectacular day!

Room Tip: I don't know what they call this room where we had 2 doubles/queen and an adjoining king with 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiMamaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had some problems finding the hotel. There are apparently some like named roads in the area, but when we called the hotel, they were able to set us on course. The manager was very pleasant and offer us all bottled water during check-in. No onsite restaurant for dinner, but there was a pub across the parking lot, which looked to have some decent beers on tap. Alas it was a bit late and we wanted to get an early start, so I did not check that out. The room was reasonable in size and clean. There was only one bathroom, for the 4 beds, but we were able to make due and still get an early start for the day. We did take advantage of the free continental breakfast, which was alright, but a bit crowded, due to the hotel being fully booked. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TikiGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear TikiGoon,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night on the way back from wine country with a PCR reward night. The hotel is situated next to a burgerville, gas station and local bar/diner right off I5. The hotel has an updated decor outside and inn. We had a smaller 1 queen bed room, but the furnishings were on par with most Crowne Plazas I've stayed in. High quality materials with dark colors and a very comfortable bed. First time on a queen, and I feel like it was more comfortable than most IHG kings. Large fridge and microwave in room. True HD with real direct tv, very nice!!! We slept in too late to try breakfast but next door made a great bacon egg and cheese on a bagel. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Atltraveler607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

In Lake Oswego on business....My wife was along....Four nights....NO HOT WATER in the SHOWER each morning!!!!! How can this place stay in business....? My wife had to take a COLD shower each morning! They wouldn't move us or fix the problem! What a joke!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a jeffrey z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear a jeffrey z,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because there was no hot water. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Manager Steve was extremely helpful. Chocolate chip cookies were a nice treat after a long day of travelling. Very convenient and excellent breakfast. Parking lot fills up fast. Would recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jafen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Oswego
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland South/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites
Phoenix Inn Suites
#5 of 7 in Lake Oswego
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tualatin - Portland South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
Address: 15700 Upper Boones Ferry Rd, Lake Oswego, OR 97035-4064
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Lake Oswego, Oregon Comfort is our first priority at the new Holiday Inn Express hotel in Lake Oswego, Oregon. We are conveniently situated near several Oregon attractions and corporate locations, making our hotel the perfect place for leisure and business travelers to stay. The Pacific Northwest boasts some of the most spectacular scenery in the country, and our Lake Oswego, Oregon hotel is perfectly placed to give you the best access to Oregon's picturesque countryside and numerous Oregon attractions. Several vineyards are located within a five mile radius of our choice Lake Oswego hotel, and the city of Portland is just a short, nine miles away. Washington Park, Bullwinkle's Family Fun Center, the OMSI Center, Bridgeport Village, Pittock Mansion and Portland are also located nearby. For the business traveler, we offer premier business amenities, and unlike other Lake Oswego, Oregon hotels, we are proud to offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. For your convenience, we are located near Lewis and Clark College, Marylhurst University, Safeco and Honeywell Corporation. We hope that all of our guests find the time to relax by taking a dip in the swimming pool or enjoying the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations today, so you can get our great Lake Oswego hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego Hotel Lake Oswego
Holiday Inn Portland South
Lake Oswego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lake Oswego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing