We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoked chicken--the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Pollo

Casa del Pollo
Ranked #53 of 150 Restaurants in Lake Oswego
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Smoked chicken--the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I regularly crave the smoked chicken with that green parsley sauce... whatever it is! This is one of best reasonably priced family restaurants in LO, hands down. The place is tiny, with only 4 tables inside and one outside. The family dinner to go is a standby for us... $30 for a whole smoked chicken, rice and beans, pico de gallo, escabeche and tortillas, plus 4 cans of soda. I am so glad it's actually here in LO where I live, and not in SE like most of the food carts and restaurants I like.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frenchfrydtater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tigard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to chain food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great burritos, tacos and Costa Rican food. Wonderful people serving up fresh food, made to order.

My favorite are the smoky grilled chicken dishes and burritos. Great find

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice people offering authentic Latin American cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Cute little place, by little I mean micro! There are just a few tables and it's cozy, probably smaller than a 1 car garage. The food is ok, fresh, but needs more spice. A few times the meat was dry others it was moist. They offer some unique Latin American dishes, but mostly burritos and tacos. Everything is made fresh to order, so there is often a wait. I really hope they do well, the owners are so very nice and we are glad to have something other than American food in the area!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mr_with_Mrs_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A taste of Costa Rica in Lake Oswego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

My daughter loves the smoked chicken! I love the casados and my husband loves the burritos. This is a very friendly restaurant to eat in or take out! Give it a try!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Large servings at good price, and Costa Rican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Went there with coworkers for lunch to try it out. The others had the chicken tacos, while I had the sausage tacos (called strangely, "Mr. Ed Taco"). My uneducated opinion is that Costa Rican food is much like Mexican food but with different spices. All of us agreed we liked it. One coworker ordered chips. The salsa provided with the chips, and the several other salsas provided for the tacos had very good flavor and definitely wasn't like any we've had at the many Mexican restaurants around.

The menu also has chicken meals, including smoked chicken, with escabeche (pickled onions and carrots), and various rice&beans based offerings. Actually a pretty big menu for such a small place. We'll certainly be going back.

It is a very small restaurant, but it's easy to spot, and the service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Pollo also viewed

Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 

Been to Casa del Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing