We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful central location. Nice rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful central location. Nice rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel, with nice rooms. We stayed in a queen spa, pet friendly room with fireplace and loved it.The location is perfect... in the middle of town and the view from our room was amazing. We will make Sailor Jack our place to stay at Lincoln City.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockergrl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack Motel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dog too! We book up quickly in the summer months, so be sure to make your reservations in advance. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sailor Jack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    95
    49
    25
    29
See reviews for
59
162
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed at Sailor Jack's for one night. Wished we could have stayed longer. We had a coupon book from McDonald's and got the room for $50. This was the best deal we got during our 3 week trip. The owners were super friendly. All rooms have a great view of the ocean. The room was renovated, clean and comfortable. Will go back if ever travelling the Oregon Coast again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageurPourToujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack Motel! Those traveler coupon books are just great and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes for a lovely week in Canada and we hope to see you again soon at Sailor Jack Motel in Lincoln City, Oregon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I could really tell they tried to renovate the rooms, but it looks like they just did it themselves or hired an inexperienced carpenter. What sounded like a good idea on paper ended up being a hindrance once we arrived and used the hot tub in the middle of the bedroom space. The fireplace was nice and the bathroom didn't have anything wrong with it. The sliding glass door took all of my 6'3" 220 lb frame to open and close it. The people upstairs and next door were loud with kids so they went to bed late and got up really early, didn't bother complaining about it though. People were nice and like I said the location is really second to none. You're on the beach. I'd definitely stay here again and get the same type of room we had (first floor with a deck), but I wouldn't use the hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were amazed by what a great room right on the beach we got for such a price! We are budget travelers and I would highly recommend if your looking for a reasonable price stay-wont find any better. Its an older building so obviously some wear but remodeled very tastfully,and the room was spacious. The front desk lady was very friendly and gave us some good ideas of activities in the area. We later stayed at the Tolovana Inn in Cannon Beach and wished we could go back to Sailor Jacks. I will definatelywill be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Sailor Jacks is an older hotel that has been adequately freshened up. The front desk staff were great. What makes this motel so good is the location on the Lincoln City beach. You walk around the office and down a set of stairs and you are on the beach. A really nice beach with a nice mixture of flat sand and some rocks close by to explore. You can walk for quite a ways in both directions from the property. When you are done, walk up the stairs and into your room. No fighting crowds, trying to find legal parking etc. They even have lights set into the hillside pointing towards the waves so they are illuminated for a majority of the evening.
If you are looking for a new, 4 star hotel with large rooms and fancy bathrooms, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a huge picture window right next to your table with an outstanding view of the ocean 24/7, look here. This is our third or fourth stay at Sailor Jacks. Staff were especially accomodating this visit.

Room Tip: If the stairs don't bother you, the third floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Sailor Jack. We are continuing to improve the property and are glad you enjoyed the surf light too! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sailor Jack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The room had been recently remodeled and was fine. A bit of new caulk around the sink would have helped the appearance. My big gripe, and this is a big one, is the parking lot. It is small and dark. We were on our way out to enjoy New Year's Eve, and I stepped into a sunken drainage grate which was about 3 inches deep. I spent a few hours in the emergency room due to breaking both the tibia and the fibula at the ankle. Because of the papers you sign when you check in, "sign here, initial here" the hotel claims to not be liable. I now need surgery and plates put in my ankle. It would have been nice if they had offered to pay my deductible. But nooooo. So, this is a clean, cheap place to stay with a great ocean view. Just carry a large flashlight when you are in the parking lot. (And your medical insurance card.)

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
When we were made aware of the incident, we expected them to come back and show us the injury. We thought everything was okay and feel sorry that she had a bad experience. The drainage and light situation is a Lincoln City matter - the drainage area and the lights belong to the City. We try to contact the City frequently, but they set their own schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Friendly place for people and pets. Like the jacuzzi and incredible view . Bed jacks would be helpful so you can gaze out at the waves without lifting your head.



Why do the reviews have to be 200 characters?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Sailor Jack and your suggestions have been noted! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Westshore Oceanfront Motel
Westshore Oceanfront Motel
#16 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Siletz Bay Lodge
Siletz Bay Lodge
#25 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Lincoln City
1.0 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seahorse Oceanfront Lodging
Seahorse Oceanfront Lodging
#18 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Property: Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
Address: 1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest vintage lodging accommodations in Lincoln City, this hotel offers 40 oceanfront guest rooms with many room styles and sizes to choose from including rooms with fireplaces, decks (1st floor only), Jacuzzis and Suites. All rooms have Refrigerator, Microwave, DVD player and coffee maker. We have Guest Laundry and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Hotel Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing