We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly wonderful”
Review of Ester Lee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ester Lee Motel
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Graeagle, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Mostly wonderful”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The view is unsurpassed, and the beach walks are phenomenal if you don't mind a very short, steep hike back to the motel. This was our third stay at the Ester Lee, and as always, it was impeccably clean. The front desk staff are warm and welcoming, and the pet-friendly rooms are greatly appreciated. A few minor concerns keep us from rating this as excellent. The bed needs to be retired! We love the convenience and experience of cooking in the facility, and the kitchen is very well-stocked with everything we need - except for dish soap. As we were cleaning up AFTER eating, we realized that the dish soap had been extremely diluted with water (our family had two units and the same situation existed in both units)...made us wonder how well any dishes could have been washed by previous guests. The staff aims to please, so we do believe these issues will be resolved before our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    240
    31
    25
    22
See reviews for
238
352
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Older motel with fairly large rooms. The Ester Lee also has cottages to rent. Beautiful view of the ocean for watching the waves or the sunset from your room. Room has 2 lounge chairs that are soft, a working table with 2 chairs. a short credenza, and a microwave and refrigerator. The heat is from the fireplace, so I don't think you can watch the fireplace unless the thermostat is set high. The bed was firm and comfortable. Front office is very helpful and has several menus for local restaurants. The motel is on the south end of Lincoln City so it is 2-3 miles to most of the restaurants. The Blackfish Cafe is a more expensive restaurant, but has excellent fresh seafood. Dinners range from $20-$25. The Wildflower Cafe on the north end of town is very good for a relaxing breakfast. If you sit in the back room, you might see ducks on the pond or a deer in the trees.
If you want a good affordable place to stay, the Ester Lee Motel would be a good choice. For larger families or extended stays, the cottages might meet your needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in a pet friendly studio, room 116. The room in nicer than the pictures show. The bathroom is updated and VERY clean. The carpets were freshly shampooed and everything was just very clean. The view is awesome. We got there just in time to watch the sunset over the ocean from comfort of the room. The beach is just a short walk down the hill and there are tidepools just below the hotel to look at. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room had had everything we needed, including lots of extra bedding and kitchen wares. The only downside is the bed was very firm and we prefer a softer mattress. The dog area is clean and humerous. Clean up supplies are stocked and ready to use. We will definitly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was 5 years old the first time my family stayed here. Now 60 years later, those of us still able to travel spend at least one long weekend a year. We invite friends when it is just my husband and me and share the apartment and cost. Beautiful views overlooking the ocean. Clean accommodations. Well stocked kitchen. Friendly staff always willing to help. An ongoing plan for updating as needed.

Room Tip: If you prefer the more modern, familiar style of room, get a room in the newer section. If you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My partner and I loved our stay here. Of course the view was excellent and the wood burning fireplace with lots of chopped wood provided made for a very romantic getaway. The full kitchen was great to have too. It was like a little home away from home. And the evening staff was so friendly and helpful. My only regret is that to get to the beach it was a very steep hard walk. Unfortunately we couldn't do it from the Esther Lee.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell WA
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've been taking mini-vacations at Ester Lee in Lincoln City for the last 25 years, and my parents stayed there before I started. Get a room in the cottages. Not your luxury, modern sort of place, but homey, good kitchenettes, great views and beach at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: 200-level cottages are most private, quiet. The newer hotel portion also has less highway noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you like beds that are very hard then you will love this place. Also if you don't care if you have to sit in the bathroom to get your free wifi. Then asked to change rooms and they made us pay more. That bed was just as hard as the other probably got 4 hours sleep total in 2 nights. came home exhausted. Sad as we do not get to do this very often at all

Room Tip: north side wifi comes in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ez2talk244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
770 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,338 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ester Lee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ester Lee Motel

Property: Ester Lee Motel
Address: 3803 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ester Lee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ester Lee Motel, a Lincoln City landmark, has been a vacation destination on the Central Oregon Coast for families for generations. Each room has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. We have cottages and Suites that sleep up to seven people. Many of these units have a full kitchen and a fireplace in the living area. We are pet friendly and allow pets in most of our cottages. “Ahh… What You Can See From The Ester Lee” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ester Lee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Lee Hotel Lincoln City
Ester Lee Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing