We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Getaway”
Review of Ester Lee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ester Lee Motel
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Getaway”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This place is great. It was recommended to me by a friend because I was looking for a place I could stay with my dog. I stayed in one of the cottages and loved it.

Ester Lee is a bit on the older side, but it is part of the charm of staying on the Oregon Coast. We have stayed in 3 different cottages so far, and we have had a great time every time. The view is fantastic from the room, and you only have to walk down a short paved road to get to the beach. Being above the beach gives you a better view though!

The office staff has always been friendly. The rooms have everything you need..dishes, corkscrew, full kitchen, a fan, and even extra dog blankets.

We will stay at the Ester Lee every time we go to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthStar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    240
    31
    25
    22
See reviews for
238
352
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Ester Lee is an old motel. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for cute, kitschy and clean, however, which just happens to be pet friendly and right beside the beach, this is it.

We stayed in a cottage that had its own kitchenette and living room area. The view was spectacular. We were right beside a set of stairs that led down to the road which led to the beach. The beach is amazing and huge, and basically the only reason to come to Lincoln City.

The reception staff were friendly enough. I was surprised you had to pay to rent the dvds on hand.

The bathroom had carpet in it which grossed me out a bit, but that's my only real complaint. The setting sun made the room very hot and there were only a couple of windows that opened.

If we're back in Lincoln City we would stay here again; it was good value for our money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiegirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our room was lovely. It had an ocean view, a kitchen well-stocked with dishes, pots and pans, utensils to eat and cook with and a fireplace which we didn't need to use. The room was warm, open the windows (screens on windows) to listen to the beautiful sound of the waves.

We like our Down pillows and suggest if others do as well is to bring them along.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemgirl612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hubby and I stayed with another couple this past Saturday night on the motel side. Both of our rooms were spacious and had beautiful ocean views. To be fair, the beds were a little hard, linens could have been softer, and the room decor pretty outdated, but for a quick weekend trip to the coast, the ester lee was affordable, their staff treated us great, and the location is tough to beat. I would't choose this motel for a romantic getaway, but will stay again because it was clean, the noon check out time was awesome, and Jan at the night desk was a gem!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwynOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Love the Ester Lee! I've never stayed in the motel - only the cottages, so I can't speak for the motel rooms, but the cottages have a lot of character. They're older, but are kept up and clean. There are quirks about each room, which makes staying there more fun. It's a great place to stay with pets or families. The only drawback is that the beach access is down a steep road, and there are no steps to the sand - not good if your mobility is in any way impaired. That said, there are lots of public beach access points nearby that are easier, so it's not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: The website for the motel has great 360 photos of the rooms. It's an older building, so lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in one of the Ester Lee pet friendly cottages. We were traveling with our son's cat! Very few places will allow a cat even though Jake is very calm and quiet. We very much enjoyed our cottage, its views, the space it allowed us and always need the kitchen as we do not eat out much. We intend to return when we can stay longer. Our cottage had a wonderful view of the ocean from the main living area as well as from our kitchen table. Other reviews mentioned how diluted the dish soap container was. This was not an issue for us. LOVED IT and intend on returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was our 5th time back at the Ester Lee and it won't be our last! We stayed in cottage #5 and when I book this cottage I was told that it had one of the best views and boy were they right! We were looking forward to a nice relaxing vacation and that is excactly what we got. The staff is always super friendly and helpful every time we are there. Another great stay at the Ester Lee with many more to come!

Room Tip: check out the website and take the virtual tour to pick which room is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leann604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
771 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,338 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ester Lee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ester Lee Motel

Property: Ester Lee Motel
Address: 3803 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ester Lee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ester Lee Motel, a Lincoln City landmark, has been a vacation destination on the Central Oregon Coast for families for generations. Each room has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. We have cottages and Suites that sleep up to seven people. Many of these units have a full kitchen and a fireplace in the living area. We are pet friendly and allow pets in most of our cottages. “Ahh… What You Can See From The Ester Lee” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ester Lee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Lee Hotel Lincoln City
Ester Lee Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing