We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Ester Lee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ester Lee Motel
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week, in a one-bedroom suite. I could sum this up by saying that next time we are in the Lincoln City area we'll be staying at the Ester Lee again.

I can think of only one negative regarding our accommodations, so I'll get it out of the way. I don't know where the water heater is, relative to our suite, but it took about three minutes of running the water until it got hot. Once hot, it was reliable. But three minutes can be a long time when you need it hot. We weren't really bothered by this, we learned to turn it on and do something else for a few minutes.

That issue may not be relative to other units, I just can't say.

That out of the way, I can say the accommodations, location, staff and rates were all very much to our liking. Furnishings are a little dated, but clean and comfortable. The mattress was firm and we slept like babies every night.

The desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful when you need them - wonderful people! Housekeeping was always spot-on, and invisible.

Our suite over-looked the ocean and beach and we had a gas fireplace and a well-stocked kitchen. It's on a cliff, so the beach is a short walk, but very handy.

This is the kind of place you wish you knew about ahead of time when you roll into a strange town. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgnevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my first time staying here, it was great! The view from our cottage was awesome! It's an older place but so comfortable and the staff were very friendly! We had a gas fireplace, which we loved. Some updates could be done, shelves for more storage in the bathrooms and by the other beds. We met some great people on the patio, everyone we met there are very LOYAL patrons, some returning every year for 30 years. I traveled with two best friends, we are already planning a trip back next year or so with our daughters.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages, I liked the patio level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We decided to head to Lincoln City after staying at a nice (and a bit expensive) hotel in Cannon Beach. We wondered if our favorite hideaway there might have a room for the night at the last minute (weekday). They had a room for us and when we got settled my husband said, "this is home". They offer everything from a simple studio with a kitchen to 2 bedroom cottages. The cottages have a special vintage charm and are well maintained. The gas fireplaces (motel) and wood burning fireplaces (cottages) add an extra special touch. The towels we had this time were definitely worn and a little re-caulking was in order for the bath, but the magnificent view and the reasonable price for an oceanfront room just can't be beat. I love the constantly updated puzzles offered in the office. The staff are friendly. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Motel room with windows in front and on one or both sides are the best. The cottages have the most c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teahouse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We rolled in late. Getting six kids out the door on a last minute trip to the coast made for a late arrival. The ladies at the front desk waited for us. Blessings blessings..the price didn't break the bank. The kitchen was big the view amazing plenty of towels for all seven of us.and the shower the bomb. loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alalssecnirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We really liked the friendly service and view. Rooms large but no king size beds but queen was new and comfy. Linens outdated. Rooms clean and quiet but could use a little updating for the price. Have stayed in nicer rooms for less money. Triple AAA not accepted on weekends??

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at the Esther Lee hotel once or twice a year for several years now. We have recommended the Motel to several family members and friends as well. The cottages are older but very well maintained. If you like a kitchen - the space of these units will amaze you. This trip we noticed they had upgraded mattresses which added to a great night's sleep. They have separate blankets and towels set up specially for their four legged guests. The views are spectacular and being pet friendly is a big plus for us but the terrific staff and ocean setting bring us back each year. We have been travelling to Lincoln City for over 30 years and tried several (pet friendly) places but have settled permanently at the Esther Lee. A quiet, quaint place to enjoy all the amenities close at hand - sit by a fireplace (in some units) and enjoy the view.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Completely relaxing. We love the view from this cliff edge motel. Since it is a bit of a walk down to the beach from there, we just drive to a close beach, there are many close spots where you can walk right out to the beach. We love the fireplace and that we can have our dog with us. The place is well run and very friendly. It is our "go to place" when we are at the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: We like the older part of the motel where it is dated, but clean. Very quiet and amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris5552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#7 of 35 in Lincoln City
829 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,784 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ester Lee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ester Lee Motel

Address: 3803 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £67 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ester Lee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ester Lee Motel, a Lincoln City landmark, has been a vacation destination on the Central Oregon Coast for families for generations. Each room has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. We have cottages and Suites that sleep up to seven people. Many of these units have a full kitchen and a fireplace in the living area. We are pet friendly and allow pets in most of our cottages. “Ahh… What You Can See From The Ester Lee” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ester Lee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Lee Hotel Lincoln City
Ester Lee Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing