We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming As Ever”
Review of Ester Lee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ester Lee Motel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming As Ever”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here three years ago and were captivated by the charm of our cottage, the magnificent views and the close proximity of the beach. We selected it again this year for a family trip. Very satisfied. The cottages are old, but well maintained and appointed without disturbing the late 40's feel of the place and the seaside charm. The rooms in the motel part not so much. Get a cottage if you can.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLB2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    232
    30
    23
    22
See reviews for
225
341
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This has been our go to Motel for years. We have stayed in both the motel and cottages and generally go in the spring or fall. This time we went a couple of days midweek in July. Since the motel was pretty full, we had to switch from one room to another for our two night stay. They did do an AWESOME job getting our second room cleaned so we had an easy transition with no wait!
But the second room (111) which is one of our favorites, had an odd smell .. like something got spilt on the carpet and soured. Even with the window open, we kept smelling it .. not overpowering.. just wafting odor once in awhile. The view is spectacular but the windows in 111 were so dirty it just looked foggy. And the pillows .. flatter than pancakes. We know this place is popular and has reasonable rates but little things like regular window cleaning; nice pillows .. carpet deodorizer? would definitely help keep us coming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Ester Lee and enjoyed our stay. The views are great and it is very affordable. The decor is from the 70's but the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Definately a great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutdale, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

These rooms and cottages are wonderful with gorgeous views of the ocean. They also allow pets to be in most of the cottages for a nominal fee. We received great service the last time we went. The staff went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were meet. We accidentally left a personal item in the room and they shipped it to our home the next day. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Spending a little extra to get a cottage is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Can't wait to come back. I loved the cottage we were in. The view was awesome. The staff was very helpful. We liked the fact that it wasn't a hotel room but more like your own apt. Next time we will get a cottage with a real burning fireplace.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katwoman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We love the cottages, and that the Ester Lee is pet friendly. The views are wonderful, if you don't mind a few power lines. That said, it's also true that the rooms are horribly outdated -- furniture from the early 70's. With fittings and furnishings that old it's impossible for the rooms to look clean or smell fresh, so they're kind of disgusting. Worst of all, though, is the complete lack of customer service. It's as though, because they keep rates relatively low, they know they'll always have plenty of bookings, so they don't care whether you enjoy your stay, or not. After several stays, where the service got worse each time, we've sadly determined we just can't go back. This was our happy place.

Room Tip: We always chose the cottages, and #223 was our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilanaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The view is amazing! The room...not so much. It was incredibly tiny, disgustingly old, and smelled gross. We weren't expecting anything fancy at all but I didn't even want to set my luggage down. We went straight to the front desk and got our money back. Would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ksquire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,294 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ester Lee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ester Lee Motel

Property: Ester Lee Motel
Address: 3803 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ester Lee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ester Lee Motel, a Lincoln City landmark, has been a vacation destination on the Central Oregon Coast for families for generations. Each room has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. We have cottages and Suites that sleep up to seven people. Many of these units have a full kitchen and a fireplace in the living area. We are pet friendly and allow pets in most of our cottages. “Ahh… What You Can See From The Ester Lee” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ester Lee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Lee Hotel Lincoln City
Ester Lee Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing