We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy and comfy”
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cozy and comfy”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I chose the Looking Glass Inn on the reviews from Trip Advisor. I stayed for 3 nights and it was great. The rooms were clean and comfy. We had a room with a gas fireplace, which was nice. The beds were comfortable. Great location, next to the beach. The assistant manager at the front desk told me the nearby spot to see t he tide pools. And that was awesome.
Just a great little place to stay. And yes I would stay here again.

Green Features: There is a glass and plastic recycle container next to the soda machine.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    257
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
386
629
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Super cute place in the historic Taft district. If you enjoy vintage looking cottages and street lights you'll love this area. The front desk staff was so nice and helpful. She got us matches to light a fire on the beach which is just steps from the hotel. We weren't able to bring our dog, but clearly a dog lover's place as well. My only suggestions would be fix the WiFi which was not working. Perhaps the rooms are a bit outdated looking, but honestly that didn't matter at all to me. It was all super clean and although we didn't use it there was a full kitchen too so almost like a little one bedroom apt. The breakfast was standard for a continental but glad it was there. Delicious cookies in the evening were an unexpected treat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetB2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Once you stay here, you won't want to stay anywhere else in Lincoln City. Especially, if you have a dog (kid). You get a wonderful welcome basket with milk-bones, towels and bowls for your four-legged family member, and these guests are treated like "people" too! The lobby staff is the friendliest and always go out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. They have housekeepers that we call "super maids" because they see to it that your rooms are absolutely spotless and they are more than happy to see to your needs. The rooms not only look clean, they feel clean. The beds are like sleeping on clouds; huge shower heads with all your bathing needs in handy mounted dispensers; and a continental buffet breakfast fit for a queen!! It's basically located next to the beautiful beach and just across the street is Moe's Restaurant. Love, love, love it here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked a three night stay with my girlfriend at the Looking Glass Inn because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and I can honestly say I am not sorry that I did. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and such a wonderful value for the money. Yes you're right outside of Mo's, which can be good and bad depending on your experience, but the real beauty here is being across from the beach and right off of 101. I booked the whirlpool suite and this room was immaculate. The jacuzzi was awesome, very hot, and worked flawlessly. It's extremely loud, however, but that didn't bother us. The king-sized bed was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The room came with two electric coil burners, two pots and pans, and some mixing bowls... along with your usual silverware, ect. All very nice stuff.

The only real "downfall" I guess you could say was the wi-fi was spotty for the most part. The reason I'm not marking this down is because you kind of expect that at any hotel now a days. It worked pretty well, but there were plenty of times were it just stopped and you had to reconnect it. It wasn't a big deal though.

The staff is very nice, the maid service was amazing.

All in all, this place is certainly worthy of it's top Trip Advisor rating in Lincoln City. I would absolutely recommend this place to anybody traveling to the Lincoln City/Newport area.

Room Tip: Bottom room was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleephla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Looking Glass Inn is a very well maintained property that is a stones throw from the beach. The rooms do not have AC, but there is pretty much a steady ocean breeze that keeps the rooms at a comfortable temp. We had a second floor room with a balcony and were very happy with the view. The complimentary breakfast doesn't open until 8:00 a.m. which is a bit late if you are planning on any early sightseeing etc. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Loved our stay.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms have a balcony and are well worth the money. As other reviews have stated the wal...
See more room tips
Green Features: The room has a full stocked kitchen and kitchen sink to do the dishes.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtaperfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked online because in part they allowed our little dog. Once we arrived: 50 feet from beach access, handed a doggy basket of dedicated towels, water/food tray, doggy treats plus a dedicated doggy grass area. Amazingly Quiet, walking to restaurants or brew pub plus hiking ( dog friendly ) state beach. Fresh hot coffee 24/7, yogurt, bagels, cookies all complementary. A definite bargain for this pacific beach community. We will book for next year longer Rated AAAAA+++. David L.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here over the 4th for 4 nights; 4 gals. Got a room with 2 queens (studio). Very spacious and big bathroom too. Windows looked over bay and we watched fireworks from there as the beach was so packed! Fun walking on the endless mi. of beach, watching whales breach and lots of seals just across the inlet/bay. Wish they had a bit more choice for breakfast, but coffee good and strong! Lots of dogs but surprisingly quiet. Hardly heard a bark! No complaints! :)

Room Tip: room 206 (studio) just up a short flight of stairs and little deck to sit on (shared with room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinthedreamBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,661 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
831 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Property: Looking Glass Inn
Address: 861 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing