We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im sure its different in summer BUT in winter, its not as good as the reviews say it is! Winter maintenance? Whats that?”
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We travelled a LONG way & the weather was awful so were looking for a little bit of luxury & warmth when we checked in here. After reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, we thought that this would be idyllic. Well, not really

The guy who served us was very friendly, he checked us into a room with a fireplace/whirlpool (the no dogs/kids one.....which we expected to be QUIET bt more on that later!).

We thought we'd have a lovely relaxing night, having a jacuzzi & a peaceful sleep, esp as there were only 3 guests in our section of the hotel (us included).....problem is, they lobbed all of us next to each other or on top of us. The person above had a jacuzzi, which made the room vibrate & make a loud noise. Okay, it was only 7pm, thats fine. Then the moron (sorry, no other way to describe him!) decided to have a jacuzzi at 8pm and same problem - the room vibrated & made a loud noise - BUT when the idiot decided to have a jacuzzi at 11pm, that was really annoying, PLUS, he had his tv turned up full volume (obviously so he could listen when he was in the jacuzzi!) and he kept the tv on LOUD till 1.30am. Great!!! BUT then from 7pm until when we moved rooms the next day, the fireplace whistled loudly & inconsistently ALL NIGHT LONG! At first, I thought it was boats in the ocean BUT no, it was the non maintained flue of the fireplace. I did NOT get to sleep till after 3am and only when I put in earplugs AND noise reduction head phones and yep, even through this, I could still hear the whistling fireplace. Even my husband who can sleep thru anything needed to put in earplugs, thats how loud/annoying the flue/neighbour was.

We told the manager, who moved us to another room, begrudgingly. And when we said how annoying the fireplace whistling was & how little sleep we got, she shrugged and said "well, its worse on the 3rd floor, thats the noise they make!" (amazing no1 has said ANYTHING about this fact ever in TA). Um,no, they dont. We have stayed in 6 hotels with fireplaces AND had a fireplace at home and not one of them has ever made this noise......it was like she was implying we are idiots who have never been near a GAS operated fireplace. If properly looked after/maintained, they DONT make this noise. We have been travelling around the US for 3 months now & dont appreciate being treated like we have never stayed in a hotel before, especially one with a fireplace

Great, thanks for the sympathy, and we were NOT rude, we never are but I dont know why she gave us such a nasty attitude. We shouldve checked out then BUT no, being the suckers we are, we stayed in the "new room" (which by the way, smelled of dog pee WHICH doesnt bother us that much as we love animals. Still, not good for people who dont like animals). Well, then there was no hot water, a borken heater in the bedroom.....lovely when youve had a day out in the cold and are freezing. So, we said this only to be told again with a sigh that the water takes a minute to warm up. Well, it took 10 minutes of being run continually for it to become as warm as Im sure that dog pee was. Lukewarm is NOT hot.......I swear it was the same temp as urine!!!!
We couldnt wait to leave.......................................
Oh, nice location and clean BUT maintenance is required all year round. If you dont want to look after all rooms, then shut some off in winter and look after the ones that are instead of letting honest travellers check in to subpar accomodations
Beach was lovely and the local harbour seals were awesome BUT that is nothing to do with the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looking Glass Inn, Manager at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2010

This is such a heartbreaking review to all of us at the Looking Glass Inn as we've never had anyone write about us in this manner. We remember these guests, they were very kind while they were here and it was a pleasure to have them as our guests, especially since they had traveled so far.

We have 11 whirlpool suites and most often our guests are able to choose the location and view of the whirlpool room they want to enjoy. These guests not only had neighbors, some not very considerate and that is unfortunate and disappointing to us.

Due to the high winds they could hear through the fireplace, I offered to move them to another room in the middle of the night when they first called to complain. They chose to move in the morning and it was no problem at all to move them. I feel terrible they wanted to move and even more so now that they felt I begrudgingly did so, I really do. I tried to be humorous a bit and mention that the noise from the wind is even louder on the higher floors but I obviously failed miserably at that.

The room they moved to didn't have the on-demand water system as we have in our whirlpool suites building, so the hot water just took extra moments. We actually thought they had a nice time with us with the exceptions of the wind noise and room move. They seemed like such nice people, never mentioned their neighbors or wanting to leave early. They had come from so far away and have now left us with such a terrible review.

I can only hope, all of us here will hope; we never again fail to realize how unhappy someone may be while our guest. We sincerely want to do whatever we can to make time spent here special and remembered positively, especially when guests come from so far away to enjoy a rare time on the beautiful Oregon coast and with us.

Sincerely,
Mary Ann McGill
Motel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

The Looking Glass Inn is a wonderful place to stay while at Lincoln City, especially if you are planning on bringing your dog along with you. There hotel is clean, the staff are all very friendly and they made sure that all of our needs were met and made it very comfortable to have our dog with us to. Plus it is right there on the bay with a very private and pretty beach access. My husband and I loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The Looking Glass Inn is, well, the best of everything about staying in Lincoln City. It's pet friendly, and that doesn't just mean they allow pets, they pamper them, provide baskets of goodies, towels and stuff for each dog guest, and even (currently) have a christmas tree covered with milk bones, my dog's favorite.

Proximity to the beach is ideal, the Siletz Bay where it's located is often the most sheltered part of the coastline there, and is always a fun for walking or beachcombing.

The rooms (this is my second stay here) are always exceptionally clean, well maintained and very, very spacious for the price. Great views, fireplaces in some rooms, and the best part is how quiet the area gets at night, in wintertime, that is. Summer's a different story, but for a quiet off-season escape, this place can't be beat in my opinion, and you can walk from here to a decent supermarket (to stock up for the kitchens in most larger rooms), couple of coffee shops and of course the famous Mo's Restaurant.

Service is as good as it gets, very friendly, the sort of welcome you'd expect in a decent bed and breakfast. Acceptable breakfast pastries in the lobby every morning, too.

Try to get an upper floor, my upstairs neighbors never seemed to take their hiking boots off, and stomped around a lot, but other than that, perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This is our favorite place to stay in Lincoln City! The location is the best right next to Moe’s and close to great shops to get really cool locally made gifts. The staff is very welcoming and friendly to all especially your pets! I cannot recommend this place enough you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My wife and I needed a place where we could be comfortable and relax. We found that at the looking glass hotel. The room had everything we wanted from a great view to the king size pillow top bed to the whirlpool tub. Rooms were very clean and moderately priced. In the morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast and in the evening we went to dinner at one of the local restaurants. We will be calling again for our future trips to the oregon coast. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelleycocoaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This little Inn is tucked away at the end of town on a dead end road where the ocean and the bay meet which makes it quiet and the views unique. The access to the beach is perfect, NO stairs or a walk down the block, etc. You are on the beach within a minute of leaving your room!

The rooms are spotless! I've been coming there for a few years now and the same staff seems to always be there. They are people that care, people that are geniunely happy to see you and they always sincerely thank me and everyone else for staying there.

Everything you need is there or near by, great restaurants, shopping, grocery store. I walked to a fabulous place for breakfast called the Beach Dog Cafe (even tho the hotel has a continental,) and I also walked to the grocery store as well as another great cafe for lunch called the Pacific Grind. It's nice to park the car at a quiet peaceful Inn and be able to walk back and forth to some places. LOVE that!

This is a special place and if you haven't tried it yet you don't know what you're missing. The Inn is not oceanfront but the location is so unigue that you've got to check it out. This is what I would call a true rest stop, a very stressfree enviroment and a great place to relax on a vacation for awhile.

I could say more, but checkout their website and photos and you'll get even a better idea of what the place is like.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriem_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We had a lovely stay over Thanksgiving weekend. The room was comfortable, clean with good amenities. Our dog was met with open arms and treats. Would stay there again in a heatbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artbyterryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.9 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,173 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,812 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
904 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,101 reviews
3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Address: 861 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing