We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Anchor Inn
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Dayton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed in nearly every cabin and several of the rooms here. If you're wondering what it's like... think of staying in a giant "I Spy' game. Barely an inch of wall space shows as Kip (the Owner) has collected tons of amazing treasures and put them on display in the most peculiar of ways. A scuba diver coming through the ceiling, autographed movie star pictures,antiques, and whimsical memorabilia are literally everywhere. It's Like no other place you'll stay. Staff is incredibly friendly, Misty especially, and remembers us every time we go there. They are very green so do not expect a lot of paper products and disposable things. Cloth napkins, and plates that don't match are standard. Ok, for you people who didn't care for your experience here.... You're NUTS. Please read their website, it tells you that "this place is not for everyone so read the reviews" If you want the standard Holiday Inn, this probably isn't for you. If you want to create a memory, give em a try ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    21
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
55
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The inn was listed in lonely planet guide book and was intrigued. The owners are friendly and helpful. I couldn't even book a room until she showed me the room. After a local draft in their bar, a superb recommendation for dinner on a Monday night. We returned to our eclectic room to watch a free DVD and fresh popped popcorn. Complimentary breakfast was Swedish pancakes, chicken enchiladas or fish tacos. Delicious. Don't miss this place if you like quirky, friendly places. Doesn't have all the amenities of a Hyatt, but it's not supposed to. It is what it is and it's a blast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Sue_Darren_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place is absolutely awesome. It's a whole museum. Our room was clean and unusual, which we loved.
Breakfast was delicious as well. We had deep fried tilapia and tortilla tacos. Pancake came as a meal as well, without fruit. I wish it wasn't deep fried since I prefer a healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice people, but the accommodations were sorely lacking. Their website doen't show pictures of the rooms so we were unaware of what to expect. We stayed in a small (very small) bungalo:
What we liked... Dog friendly, great area behind the Inn to walk your dogs, friendly staff, convenient location. What we didn't like... At times noisey as it's close to Hwy 101. Small bedroom (barely able to walk around the bed), bed was somewhat uncomfortable, NO outlets in the bathroom, small dark shower, no shelves anywhere, the mirror is over the toilet not the sink (didn't bother to shave!) As the bungalo was small in size, it made it difficult to store suitcases and a cooler out of the way. Parking is not convenient, you can unload somewhat close to your unit, but then have to park elsewhere. Not being able to view other units I can't speak for all, but number 3 is not for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barnesddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I didn't know what to expect at this place. Boy were we thrilled, once we stayed. Jim, ck us in, did the tour, baked the cookies, was waiter in the morning. Owner/chef, Kip has created a very eclectic, fabulous place here. This is not for a high maintenance person, but it is very fun. Our cottage didn't have any outlets in the bathroom, bummer

Room Tip: The cottages are a little old fashioned. I was told they are for pet owners and families The main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sclbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I can not say enough about the Historic Anchor Inn. The only thing this property does not have is an ocean view. Everything else is wonderful. Let's start with the first point of contact. We have a home in the area, and were informed due to a project on 101 that we would be without power for up to 10 hours overnight. My dad was going to be with us on that night, and wears a C-Pap machine that requires power. They gave us a "great" rate for my parents and were so kind. Upon check-in they walked us through the place and all the amenities. The next day they were so accommodating for breakfast with dietary needs. The owner and his daughter along with the entire staff was flat out amazing. The property is a menagerie of antiques, with each room decorated differently. I have paid 5 times as much at other establishments, and no one has ever reached the level of customer service as those at this Inn. Thank you for all you did to make my parents stay a great one. I will recommend you to anyone I come across.
Debbie Z

Room Tip: We had a cabin....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GR8TRAILBLAZERFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I jus got married, we did jus the court house wedding and used to live in town. My in laws decided to get us a place in town and let us spend a night together as newlyweds and keep the kids with them. We checked in before we left for newport. NOT what we were expecting! Drove by many times and wouldn't have ever thought so nice!! Loved the feel of it and all the old things inside. Great staff and we loved the room!! The bedroo. Was seperate from the sitting/living room and had a small fridge sink coffee maker coffee grinder and a microwave. The way they did breakfast was cool, resturant like feeling they make a couple different options n you pick what you would like. They are fast as well, also they welcome locals as well but show up early so they cook extra and you pay only $5.00!! What an awesome idea!! We loved it and want to stay every anniversary even if we live in town or not!!! Thank you all can't wait to see you again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.3 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
3.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchor Inn

Property: Historic Anchor Inn
Address: 4417 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1552
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Anchor Inn is a small inn nestled in Lincoln City's historic Taft District. Steeped in romance, history, and 1940's nostalgia, the inn is being renovated with utmost care to evoke the Oregon Coast experience of a bygone era. We serve complimentary, hot, homemade breakfast every morning. And pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing