We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our booking in the wine country fell through at the last minute due to a fire in the hotel, so we were so lucky to find Shearwater Inn at the very last minute! It was a wonderful find for us: fantastic ocean views from the room and a very hospitable experience right from reservations, to check-in and check out! Very responsive staff who give a personal touch to customer interaction- both Crystal and Cindy were excellent. Free wine reception in the lobby every evening and books and videos to borrow were a big plus. Clean pleasant surroundings. The Inn is pet friendly but (like us) if you want a no-pet room, you can ask for it. Now that we have found it, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globerUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    177
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
137
522
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our third time driving the coast on 101 and have stayed at lots of hotels along it and this is one of the best for your dollar....maybe THE best. Ocean views. Free wine tasting in the lobby (ends at 6:30pm which they let it last a little longer for us) Our room was large with great views and a kitchen and living room. Superb and very friendly at the front desk. Very clean everywhere. We have paid over $300 per night for rooms of this caliber. And here it was under $150....about an hour after we left we realized I forgot my favorite dress shirt with my wedding ring in it and they kept it safe for me. They are also right next to a nice sea food restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandonolynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a great location,beautiful accomadatios and the staffwas icing on the cake! Thank you Cindy for going way above and beyond!!!!! Cindy made our visit special and came in on her day off to do so.The view was incredible. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sand free, non musty accommodations are not easy to find on the Oregon Coast. We were delighted with the Shearwater Inn - so clean, very very comfy bed, view of the ocean, a wine social that actually had decent wine (congrats to owner who apparently chooses new stuff often!). Finally, the continental breakfast delivered to the room was much more than that - not just a croissant and coffee, but hard boiled eggs, granola, yogurt and fresh fruit. This will definitely be our go-to place when we travel to Lincoln City. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was as good as it gets at the beach. The only small quibble I would have is that there was a pervasive smell of cleaning products - glad everything is so clean, but maybe change to a natural product brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btcpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, very close to the beach. You can walk straight to the water. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so we had a great view of the ocean. There is a restaurant right next door. We were traveling with our two small dogs, which is one of the things that attracted me to this hotel, along with the excellent reviews. We had the King Studio room, which was generously appointed with a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace. There was also a balcony and a refrigerator and microwave, which was very helpful to have. The grounds to take the puppies out were nice, an ample strip of grass with pretty flowers surrounding it. They provided puppy pick-up bags and convenient trash cans too! One of the best things was that they bring breakfast to your room that you order. It is a good, complete breakfast including hot cereal, fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, etc. There was much thought into what is most convenient for travelers. There was a welcome basket for the dogs including blankets to cover the furniture, dog dishes, and dog towels. The lobby is very warm and friendly - they provide for guests use dvds, games, books, and internet, but there is also wifi in the rooms. They provide as a friendly welcome, a little bag of taffy! which is also available to purchase more. The king bed was to die for! This hotel sets the bar high. I will be looking up the hotel group it is part of and try to go exclusively to these hotels when I am traveling with or without the pups! A nice highlight of our vacation. We generally go to B and Bs, so for this hotel to compare so well with personal service and nice touches shows how impressive it was!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked from Kah-nee-ta, and after a disapointing experience were thrilled with what we discovered at the Oregon Coast!!! Me and my family have been going to Lincoln City and the beach since I was a kid and never have we stumbled into the Shearwater. After spending a lot and getting a little, we were very pleased to find the Shearwater Inn. The price was 50 dollars less per night than similar venues and we got so much more for our money. We are a new family and have a young child. The staff was helpful and accepting of our toddler and treated us very well. We strongly recommend the Shearwater to all!!!

Room Tip: Above Second floor have best views (no buildings get in way), but we were fine. Rooms are well insul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Hills, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Shearwater. The property was clean and well-maintained. The extra details like fireplace, bathrobes, wine glasses, wine opener, and breakfast brought to the room was great. We didn't take advantage of the wine reception every night, but it is an added bonus, too. It was very nice having the fried and microwave for the room. Access to the beach was amazing and sunsets from the balcony were fantastic! The bed wasn't quite as comfy as we would like, but I guess, is that ever the case? The staff was incredibly friendly and we would recommend this place again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing