We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shearwater Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Lincoln City(Lincoln City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn & Suites(Lincoln City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Inn & Suites(Lincoln City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
700
198
27
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
198
27
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredcontinental breakfastgrand suiteevening winewine socialparlor suitedaily winesalt water taffyeach morningsocial hourocean viewfifth floorparking lotdog treatsjetted tubgas fireplaceoregon coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We chose the place for its location and view of the ocean. We've stayed at other hotels in the area with the same view -- but a few seemingly small touches set the Shearwater apart. A small dish of saltwater taffy greeted us when we entered the room. Large coffee mugs, not diner-sized cups, awaited our morning in-room coffee. Comfy robes hung on the bathroom door, wonderful for lounging in or for a trip downstairs to the outdoor spa tub. And a light continental breakfast was brought to our room -- much more restful than waiting in line behind a couple large families at the ubiquitous waffle iron in the morning. Enjoying my bagel and fruit with fresh coffee on the ocean view balcony was a great way to start off my day! Our only disappointment was that the spa was closed for its monthly cleaning the day we checked in. Will phone ahead next time! We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a fourth floor room to save a few bucks and have as wide a view as the top floor premium rooms. Floors 1-4 are also dog friendly!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena_Bucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We looked forward to our Grand Suite room that we booked many months earlier for the Lincoln City Kite Festival. The Shearwater offers a continental breakfast, lovely views, and is a great location for the kite festival. Check-in was a breeze, and when we got to the room, we were impressed by the size of the suite and the kitchen space, but puzzled by a number of things that made this first-class suite disappointing. When you're paying as much as we were for that suite, the suite should be top notch. So many things could be improved upon!

First, the lack of a table to sit at. There is an eat-in counter at the kitchen, but my handicapped mother cannot sit on tall bar stool-type seats. No coffee table either. So she had to sit with a plate in her lap in a chair in order to eat. This was quite frustrating.

There also was no "welcome to our Inn - here's the lay of the land" kind of placard or book. Most rooms we stay in offer some kind of reference as to where you are and what is available around you, but there was nothing there. So you're on your own, basically, if you want to find yourself beer or wine, (we found out very quickly that the only convenience store nearby does NOT sell beer). This isn't a huge thing, but it is (again) something that would improve the room to be a better experience for future guests.

The master had a nice big jacuzzi tub, a larger-than-life space for the sinks and walk-in shower, and a little toilet room off in the corner, but no amenities like shampoo in little bottles. Just big vats of generic shampoo, shower soap and conditioner mounted in the shower area like you'd see at the gym. Yet another thing that ought to be improved upon for future guests. I was glad I brought my own Aveda shampoo & conditioner.

The room was clean for the most part, but the kitchen was not so great. The counters needed wiping, and there was food left from the previous guest in the cupboard. The cupboards were also hard to open & close because they would stick. And there was no garbage disposal. So when I cooked dinner for all of us, it was tricky to scrape food scraps into the tiny little garbage under the sink. It would've been nice if the sink had a disposal. Again, not a big deal, but something that could make the stay better for future guests.

Onto the master! We noticed right away that you can see the bed sinking down where people normally sleep. Same for the other king bed in the other room of the suite. The minute we sat on the bed, we heard the springs: Clung! Dung! Pop! Oh my. That bed was awful. It was worse than a Motel 6 bed. Matter of fact, a Motel 6 bed would probably be better. We stayed 2 nights in this bed, and I could not sleep either night due to the large dents in the wrong places in the bed. Lumpy & poppy - just awful! My back still hurts from that bad bed.

At bath time, the shower faucet didn't work properly. It was tricky to get the hot water actually on, but we figured it out (and mentioned something to management, so they were made aware of that). The water pressure was decent enough. The jacuzzi functioned great though! It was nice to relax in.

We loved the patio just off the master and the main area of the room. The patios are small, but enough room to park our keesters and stare out over the beach. It was nice to watch the kites from the room while sipping wine. The hotel offers a wine reception every night. The wine was so-so, but it was still nice to have the offering. It was also nice to have a DVD player hooked up to each of the TV sets. There are complimentary DVD check-outs downstairs, which was nice when the kids wanted to watch a movie and we were more interested in sitting out on the patio.

This is no fault of the hotel, but something important here that warrants mentioning - if you think you can sit on the patio and peacefully listen to the ocean waves pounding on the shores of the beach, you will be sorely disappointed. You'll hear the beach alright, but over that, you'll hear the "squee-squee-squee-squee" of the very annoying, spinning exhaust fan from Kyllos, located about 100 feet southwest of the hotel. It almost sounds like a high-pitched bird sound, until you hear it constantly and repetitively. After several hours of that, you'll wish you could just hear the ocean. That annoying sound NEVER STOPS.

In the morning, we cooked our breakfast since the continental breakfast wasn't really our style. We did order some fruit for the next morning, which consisted of melon and pineapple pieces. It was decent enough. They also offer bagels, yogurt, granola, and muffins.

Before we checked out, we took a quick dip in their hot tub. The tub is on the Hwy 101 side of the building, next to the parking lot, so it wasn't exactly quiet and peaceful, but it was decent enough. Again that phrase "decent enough" -- notice the pattern?

We wanted an EXCEPTIONAL time in our Grand Suite at the Shearwater. Instead, we got a very "meh" experience. In the end, we probably won't stay there again, not unless they make a few upgrades. We prefer: (1) a more comfortable bed, (2) the sound of the ocean and not a squeaking fan; (4) a clean(er) kitchen space; and something we decided we definitely missed: (4) the option to bring our 80 lb. black lab in the room (the inn takes small dogs only).

Room Tip: Ask management to request that Kyllos oil their exhaust fan so it doesn't squeak
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

the rooms were excellent, we appreciated the game room for the children. Also your staff was very calm and helpful when our grandson became turned around and couldn't find us. Thanks for that. We did have a barking dog near us that was annoying and the long waits for the elevator was frustrating . housekeeping did a great job and the breakfasts were delicious. checking in and out was a snap. Thanks for a great stay and YES we plan to return in the fall. L Russell also we regret there is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The view from our room was fabulous. The rooms were great and the staff was excellent. We also loved being so close to the beach. We look forward to our future stay at the Shearwater Inn in Lincoln City.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CP0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great views, nice staff, good continental breakfast, love the beach right out the hotel. We would stay here again as the location to everything was great. Thanks for the wonderful weather and the casino had fireworks for the first day of summer which were lovely to see off the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyJ701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews