We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrap up warm on the coast”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wrap up warm on the coast”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A full view of the beach is partially blocked by nearby motel and restaurant. The beach is nearly empty due to the winds from the Pacific. The Oregon Coast is about 20 degrees colder than inland, so bring warm clothes.

The Inn is exceptional. Suite had wow factor on entry. A kettle would have been useful for non coffee drinkers but that's pretty minor. Decent breakfast brought to room. Free wine giving a chance to meet other guests, a great idea. Also free DVD rentals for those not wishing to brave the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glosbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    179
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
143
527
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hidden gem!! My husband and I truly enjoyed our 5th Wedding Anniversary stay in the beautiful place!! We were married on the Oregon Coast and it's truly a magical place!! Stay was friendly and we will be back!! Breakfast served to our room was absolutely wonderful. May I suggest more selections.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

If you must stay in Lincoln City then this is as good as most. We had a nice 2 bed top floor suite with a well equipped kitchen, comfy seating and a gas fire. 2 balconies from which we could see the sunset and see the beach over the top of the block and restaurant in front. You need to be on the 4th or 5th floor really to get this I think. All rooms have a seawards view, not necessarily a good 'sea' view...
Breakfast was basic but OK quality delivered to your room. Fruit, a bagel with cheese, flask of coffee; that kind of thing.
Would try another hotel from this group after this experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I expected a good experience after reading the reviews about the Shearwater Inn, but soon realized we were getting something beyond our expectations. The staff are friendly, helpful and know when to serve and when to be invisible. The room had a wonderful view and we enjoyed sleeping with the balcony door open to hear the waves and feel the ocean breeze. Wine socials and breakfast to the room were quite the treat. A beautiful way to share our 30th anniversary. Our thanks and cudos to all the folks who make the Shearwater Inn the special place that it is.

Room Tip: Top floor away from restaurant provided a wonderful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the Shearwater. The beach can be seen and heard, and access is easy. The one bedroom suite is outitted with everything you would need to relax and to fix meals if you wish. This is a very dog friendly hotel, and the doggie baskets are wonderful The staff was uniformly kind, helpful, and welcoming.
Having the continental breakfast delivered to the room was a welcome touch, but I would suggest that the breads and muffins could be fresher.
Our room, was extremely clean and the floor was quiet. However, for the best view and to not have anyone walking over your head, I would suggest a fifth floor room.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: stay on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is so cool! I can't believe the value we got for the price. Check in is at 3 but we arrived 2 hours early and couldn't find anything else to do to kill time, it was freezing outside so we didn't want to hang out at the beach ( beach access is right across the parking lot) so we were sitting in the lounge which had games that kept our five year old busy. The woman at the desk came over after about twenty minutes and said she moved things around and had a room we could check into early!!
The place is gorgeous, all updated, jetted tub, awesome bed, fireplace in the room, and breakfast is brought up. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We came here for our 49th anniversary and had a very relaxing time. We enjoyed the wine hour in the evening. Would come here again. Very close to the beach but we could see the beach from our verenda.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,296 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing